A case of the Mondays…

Being a mom you know things don’t always go as planned right?

Image

Well this weekend it didn’t matter if I were a mom or not, this weekend was a complete disaster! Saturday morning I get back from the gym to find out from my husband that the water pipe busted due to the freezing cold weather. This was only AFTER my car didn’t start getting ready for the gym. After having to jump the car we find out the our second car needed a new battery within weeks of our first car needing one. After going a day and a half without water the plumber came out and fixed it….after we shelled out more dough.

Needless to say this weekend was a disaster. I was in a horrible mood, my husband was as well, and Brooklyn….well she was a happy camper! If only I could live like a child without worries!!!

The point to this story is that I did not let the horrible events hinder my exercise or gym time. I still made myself get to the gym both days to get in a workout and ended Sunday with an awesome yoga class. It made me realize that no matter WHAT comes our way, we can only determine how we react to it. There will always be crappy things that happen, and most likely it will all happen within days of each other because that’s how life goes. ” When it rains it pours!”

Now I have an awesome 12 minute full body workout for you! For days when you don’t have time to go to the gym, when it’s too dang cold to leave the house, when you don’t have any equipment other than yourself, and when you need to kick your own butt in only 12 minutes. This is one of my favorite at home workouts and ALWAYS leaves me sore the next day. That’s always a plus in my book!

This will be a progression workout. Which means we will do the same workout in one month to see if we can get a better score!

Grab a piece of paper and pen and write down how many reps you get after each move.

There should be a SQUATS / PUSHUPS / SIT-UPS category with 8 rounds. At the end we will total the score and that’s your number!!

12 min TABATA workout

20 seconds on 10 seconds rest/transition to the next move

8 rounds

AIR SQUATS

PUSH UPS

FULL SIT UPS

REPEAT 8 rounds which totals 12 minutes.

KEY: write down how many reps of each move down on a paper. We will do this workout in a month and see if you beat your own score….which we all should if we keep doing our workouts 😉

I will leave you with my favorite way to get in GREEN into your day!

Image

Broccoli Onion Omelet

I promise it tastes amazing!

sauté half an onion cut up in a pan with a splash of olive oil.

steam broccoli in the microwave

when the onions are slightly browning toss in the broccoli

crack open 2 eggs or 1 egg and 2 egg whites over top

flip like an omelet and season with pepper and salt…or my favorite, Janes Crazy Mixed Up Salt.

Filling, nutritious, and you get your greens in 🙂

Wednesday I will be posting my 10 week pregnancy update!!! I cannot wait to be in the second trimester, as I am the one who gets horribly sick ALL DAY long. This time around its so much harder with an 18 month old to run after!!

image

Questions?

What is your favorite green vegetable?

Did you get sick in your first trimester?

7 thoughts on “A case of the Mondays…

  1. Danielle says:

    Congrats! I have a 16 month old and can’t imagine being pregnant right now!

    Favorite green would be snap peas I think.

    I think with all 3 pregnancies I was actually sick 2 or 3 times TOTAL. I was pretty nauseous a lot of the 1st trimester with all of them, but not sick.

  2. megroach says:

    My favorite green, I think peas, but I love snap peas too. I was sick with my first, and lost 10 lbs right away, I was happy to get to my second trimester so I would stop feeling so awful. With my second pregnancy I was not as sick but still lost 10 lbs and barely had an appetite, forcing my self to eat was what made me feel so ill.

Leave a Reply

