Meg’s Miles, BMS Playground and a Workout!

Saturday we had over 150 people come together in my neighborhood alone to run for Meg.

megsmiles4

What a rush to see the community come together and honor her life.  PS-I spy Justin and Gentry to the left of the guy in the green jacket…

I don’t do public speaking but basically I said (in under 1 minute)

One of the first thoughts that comes to our minds after hearing about tragedy like this is WHY.  Why would God allow this to happen to one of his devoted followers?  We were one of ten thousands of groups getting together to run for Meg.  We were one of ten thousands of groups learning about her faith and way of life.  We were one of ten thousands of groups rethinking the way they’re living their life.

Because Meg’s Miles took place the same morning of my first Be Mom Strong Playground, it got modified.  I don’t even have a video because the high school girls’ lacrosse team busted in on our workout and thought it was part of the run.  Glad to have them… but threw me off seeing lacrosse sticks in my strength training circuits 😉

bmsplayground1

Here are all the attendees.  Hoping to have this many again when I can actually think straight next Saturday!  If you want to host your own playground this weekend check back in tomorrow.  I will have your printable workout for you!

I’m always hearing from my friends and running buddies how to strengthen their arms.  Well here’s a workout just for that in under than 30 minutes.  Listen to the beginning for an explanation, but you’ll be doing 100 arm exercises per round 🙂  I literally could not make it through this workout.

How was your weekend?

Did you do any Meg’s Miles?

Anybody starting to think about creating their BMS Playground?  We have fun prizes for all who do!!

11 thoughts on “Meg’s Miles, BMS Playground and a Workout!

  1. Change of Pace says:

    I’m sure it was a tough weekend; it’s so nice to see many people came out in person to run for Meg. Kelly and I both ran 13 treadmill miles for her.
    I am definitely checking out this video later! My arms need more strength!

  2. Adriana @Laced Up With Lipstick says:

    HI Emma! I did 3 miles, one for each of Meg’s kids who have been on my mind since I heard of the news. Again, I am so sorry for your loss! I’m glad the running community came together and showed their love and support, it makes me proud to be a runner.

  3. Cyanne (RunStretchGo) says:

    I had a low key and relaxing weekend. But got in a short run for Meg on Saturday. It was nice to just go run, without training, and not really caring what my Garmin was telling me.

    I’m so happy there was such a strong response in the running community for Meg’s Miles. I hope it has helped to bring you and your family some peace in knowing that she impacted people around the world, and raised awareness about driving while under the influence or distracted.

  4. vitatrain4life says:

    I did “cycling” miles for Meg on Saturday since I had to sub a spin class but went out for a gorgeous 10 on Sunday and thought about her (and you) along the way! I’ll have to check out this 100 arms video after the kids sleep tonight…:-)

  5. Debbie @ Deb Runs says:

    How wonderful that your neighborhood had such a great turnout for #megsmiles. I ran 12 miles for Meg. I met our local MRTT for the first time for the first 5 miles and then run 7 more miles with the Cruisers.

Leave a Reply

