Remembering Meg – #FlipIt

It’s been almost two months since tragedy struck our community.  The support for Meg is still going strong, in fact I’ve heard there’s a shoe tribute at the Boston Marathon this year.  How cool?

I loved seeing people share and respond to my post that day about cherishing every moment, good and bad.  I felt like Meg was really reminding people how precious life is.
BUT
Then a couple days, weeks and months pass and, while we will never forget Meg, we forget to embrace each moment.  The kids go back to yelling at each other, your husband goes back to demanding a gourmet dinner hot and ready to serve the second he walks in the door (oh wait is that just me?! Kidding Justin… kind of) and we go back to grunting and complaining about our lives.
I truly believe tragedies like this happen as God’s way of reminding us to not take one single breath for granted.
#FlipIt
So, I thought it would be cool to take just one thing that completely and utterly annoys the heck out of us on a daily basis and FLIP IT.  In other words, see the good in it and (one day, maybe one really idealistic day) we can learn to cherish it.
Here’s my example:
I just can’t stand when Justin leaves his dirty dishes sitting on the table for me to put away. He already knows this, I tell him constantly.  Lately that “telling” has turned into a more of a “yelling” but we won’t go there 😉
20140305-180244.jpg
Here’s where I flip it
I’m in love with the PotteryBarn dishes we were given as a wedding present from so many of our closest friends that seem to hold all of Justin’s dinner just a little too long.  I love that we can just reach into the fridge, pull out food, heat it up and eat away.  I love that Justin leaves his dish on the table to go play with Gentry in the other room.  I love that I’m able to simple rinse, put in the dishwasher and go join them.
So I (somehow) love when Justin leaves his dirty dishes on the table for me to clean up and will remember to cherish those positives next time I see it… AKA tonight.
I’d love for you to join me, and I’d even love to make a collage of pictures of your “annoying” things that you are going to flip into positive ones.  Please help start the Flip It movement so maybe we can carry on this for longer than just a few days
Leave a comment below telling me your Flip It story
Tag me @bemomstrong on Twitter or Instagram with your Flip It story or picture using #FlipIt and #MegsMiles
Post it to my Facebook page
OR
Email it to me at bemomstrong@gmail.com
Somehow just get it to me!
There’s no concrete prize, just satisfaction knowing that you’re not taking any moment for granted.
ARE YOU IN?
15 thoughts on “Remembering Meg – #FlipIt

  1. Karen (@karenlovestorun) says:

    I love this! It’s a great reminder for us to be thankful for all of the wonderful things we have in our life. It’s so easy to look at the negatives and takes effort to flip it and see the silver lining.
    Such a great idea, Emma! 🙂
    Flip it: I am so upset about my knee injury…but I am thankful that I am still able to run and have overall health.

  2. cldem says:

    Emma, it’s like you were reading my mind yesterday! I have been on the edge of yelling at my teams at work for well over a month, and it’s not me. I’m a happy person, but I’ve been so preoccupied with some much bigger issues at work that I don’t understand how others aren’t focused on getting their jobs done well. Instead of getting angry, I’m going to get preachy and remind everyone why we are working so hard, and what it will do when we get through to the other side.

  3. michele says:

    LOve that idea… and to add to your “flip it”– before you know it your baby boy will be off on his own, in the blink of an eye.. and you will wish for just one more “dish” to clean up after…
    been there… living that! hugs to you

  4. Adriana @Laced Up With Lipstick says:

    Thanks for this post Emma, I will never look at James leaving his underwear in his pants for me to take out during laundry day the same again…at least I have a husband who loves and provides for us. He’s also is my biggest supporter and cheerleader and does anything he can to make me going out for a run happen. He’s a great dad too and that’s what I need to focus on, I’m sure I do things that annoy him too.

  5. megroach says:

    I love this! What a great idea, I have to think about something because I am sure there are things that drive me nuts that I can turn into a positive!m

  6. Nicole @ Work in Sweats Mama says:

    Ohh, Emma. This is amazing. Bean was home with me the last two days with a stomach bug. I had to reschedule work meetings and pretty much rearrange my day. And forget about working out. But, on the flip side, I got to spend the day with my beautiful daughter. I got to curl up with her and help her feel better. Work can wait, but my daughter will be grown before I know it. So, I’m going to cherish every extra bit of time we have to spend together. I could do without the puking, though!

Leave a Reply

