NYC Half Recap

Sorry to make you wait one whole day for a recap, but Sunday was a whirlwind!  I woke up around 5:30 to run at 7:45, shower during the bridal shower, jump on a plane and home snuggling this little one by 7PM.

20140317-095245.jpg

Starting with Saturday, we stopped by the expo (literally for 3 minutes so I only have this picture)

20140317-095204.jpg

Then we rushed off to The Standard.  According to my NYC girls, this is THE place to have a drink, which would be great if I could.  The view…

20140317-095102.jpg

the company…

20140317-095122.jpg

and the bathrooms… ALL glass.

20140317-095131.jpg

I seriously felt like I was going to face plant it on the sidewalk below with my pants around my ankles.  Sorry for the visual.

That night we went to Colicchio & Sons for the most gourmet dinner you’ve ever had.  If you’re in NYC or ever go there you can NOT pass up this restaurant.  Combinations you’d never imagine that tasted like heaven.  Of course I carb loaded with pizza, sea urchin stew, polenta cakes, white asparagus with grapefruit, fennel, arugula… the list could go on and on (sorry Syd if I missed something).  But what really got me across the finish line Sunday…

20140317-095142.jpg

YUM!  Chocolate chip cookie dough parfait with walnuts.

So that morning, my friend’s husband had randomly decided to run the race after getting a bib the day before.  Sidenote- he had never run over 3 miles.  Luckily he did because I would’ve never made it to the race and back.

20140317-095114.jpg

The course was amazing, with only a few hills all done by mile 6 and completely flat road through Times Square to Wall Street.  I honestly almost started crying running through Times Square (hormones) just because of the rush, and because I saw a mom stop her running to go kiss her daughter in the stroller.  Again, hormones.

My only race picture (see my arm in the left corner?)

20140317-095233.jpg

I had just wanted to finish the race, no pressure.  Except my name is Emma and there’s not one non-competitive bone in my body.  So, when I started to feel fast around Mile 5, I pushed probably a little too hard until Mile 13.1.  My knee really started throbbing around Mile 9, but my stubborness said to ignore it.  I’m definitely paying for that now!  Guess I should’ve run more than 15 miles a week all on the shock-absorbing treadmill.

The NYC Half results page has me starting with the wrong wave, so my official time is off there.  My watch told me 1:41:00, for what that’s worth.  Either way, I’ll take it.  I managed to escape in the one building open at the end of the course (so odd, don’t those restaurants want to make $?!) and snap this picture.20140317-095153.jpg

Baby bump and race bling.

My friend’s husband scored a time under 2 hours on his FIRST attempt to run over 3 miles.  Crazy.

I would most definitely run that race again next year.  However, I’d have to nail a pretty fierce half time by next December to qualify again, which will probably not happen thanks to a certain present we will be receiving in August!

Post race and post shower, we showered one of my best friends for her upcoming wedding.

20140317-095213.jpg

And then the 4 pregnant college buds lined up to pose.  Due dates June-July-August-September.20140317-095223.jpg

This was the best weekend, but I was so excited to get back to little Miss G.  Will I be running another race pregnant?  Yes, the Monument Ave 10K in 2 weeks.  Will I be running another half pregnant?  Probably not.  My body is mad at me and doesn’t feel like there’s an end in sight!

How was your weekend?

Where are you must-go-to restaurants in NYC or any other city?

Do you have any races coming up?

26 thoughts on “NYC Half Recap

  1. Karen (@karenlovestorun) says:

    It sounds like you had a great girls weekend in the city! I have always wanted to run a NYC race. You did an amazing job, congratulations!
    Love the picture with your friends who are also pregnant, so cute!
    Karen @karenlovestorun

  2. vitatrain4life says:

    You did freakin amazing for being pregnant!!! So sorry we didn’t get to meet but it was a crazy weekend for me too, of course!! Someday soon (read – after the little one comes) I bet we could run close to a 1:26 if we did it together 🙂 Just saying.

    • bemomstrong says:

      Agreed!!! Especially on that course! And FYI I requested that my time be looked at again because it is like 15 min off. Go on @nyrr twitter page and they have a link to request a “recount” if you think it’s wrong.

  3. Tina Muir says:

    Awwww looks like you had a wonderful weekend! So inspiring you are still racing while pregnant. I am interested to see how I handle it…..eventually! I have a super nerdy list of restaurants to go in various places, I will add that one to my list!

    My favorite place I went in NYC was an Alice in Wonderland themed breakfast place with mismatched silverware and plates. They had lots of scones and great breakfast options. It was so cute!

    Enjoy a few days to relax! Congratulations on your race!

  4. jessielovestorun says:

    I had no idea you & your girlfriends are all pregnant. How cool is that. Do any of those ladies have kids the same age as your sweet little girl?

    Btw – Congratulations on rocking the half. You are such a rockstar.

  5. cldem says:

    Add 35 minutes to your finish time, and that’s my big half goal for the year. Not preggers. 🙂

    You did so awesome! I cannot believe your friend’s husband ran that fast for his first >3 mile run ever.

    Favorite NYC restaurant: Gramercy Tavern. I will always remember my first meal there 🙂

  6. Change of Pace says:

    You are amazing, Emma! Congratulations on such a speedy half with your bump!
    Sounds like an fun, whirlwind weekend with the ladies. That’s such a great photo with your pregnant friends!
    I still have no races on my agenda but hope to run one in May!

  7. Kim says:

    Wow!! Great job on that race – baby bump and all!!! And, I love that picture of you and your friends with you cute bumps showing!! Sounds like a super weekend for sure!

  8. Olive to Run says:

    What an amazing weekend! As for the bathroom, I would have thought the same thing. As for your race picture, you have a very sexy strong arm 🙂

    Great job out there!!

  9. Laura @ Mommy Run Fast says:

    Wow, Emma- that was one fast half!! I’m running one in 3-4 weeks and will be happy with 2 hours. But, like you, if I’m feeling good I would have kept pushing- I totally get it! I LOVE that girlfriends bump picture, how fun!!

  10. milesandblessings says:

    Amazing job mama!!!!! I can’t believe he had never run over 3 miles!!! When I ran my 1st marathon I had never run more than 15 miles and never raced farther than a 5k :)!!! I am crazy like that :). That is so fun that you are pregnant with your friends and so cool that you are each a month apart :)!!! I am doing The Garden Spot 1/2 in April!!!

  11. Marnie @ SuperSmartMama says:

    Emma I love your recap of the NYC half marathon. I had a friend post some photos on Facebook but your recap was super cool (complete with crazy story of friend’s husband running his first half marathon — why do we all know one of those types?!) . You have me itching to start running again. I may have to go find me a 5K or 10K to run in the next month or so.

Leave a Reply

