Why Fat is Good for You and Gender Reveal… good combo

WE KNOW THE GENDER!  But first you have to read all about fats because I’m feeling extra large now that I know there’s a little baby ____ bouncing around in there 😉


For decades you’ve heard to cut back on your saturated fats.  Why?  Because they lead to clogged arteries and heart disease.  Is this true?  Kind of…

Taken from this article:

When you ask whether saturated fat is good or bad, the question should be, “Compared to what?” Compared to polyunsaturated fat from vegetable oils, saturated fat is clearly more harmful to the heart. But compared to trans fat, saturated fat is healthier. Compared to carbohydrates, a category that includes starches and grains as well as sugary foods, saturated fat is probably neutral. But compared to refined carbohydrates—the kind found in white breads, most breakfast cereals and snack foods and sweets, for -instance—many foods with saturated fat appear to be a better choice. They also seem less likely than refined carbohydrates to raise heart disease risk.

Interesting information about a once MUST AVOID food.

Now in this next section, when I talk about how much we need fats, I’m not talking

UNFORTUNATELY,

I’m talking these fats…

Why are fats important?  From Dr. Sears

Fats provide energy.  Actually, the MOST energy gram for gram.

Fats build healthy cells.

Fats build brains.

Fats help the body use vitamins.

Fats make hormones.

Fat provides healthier skin.

Fat forms a protective cushion for your organs.

Fats should make up 20-35% of your daily caloric intake (different studies vary between those numbers).  Fats help keep you FULL!  I keep hearing people on low-fat diets complaining about how starving they are… well that’s because you aren’t eating things that “stick to your ribs” like my Dad always says!

Prime example…

Yes, Justin and I are currently OBSESSED with this!  It tastes SO good, is easy to fix, and is 85% the fat calories of regular peanut butter.
But guess what… you will eat larger amounts of it, and will be hungrier than eating regular peanut butter.
WHY?!
Because.. redundant… it has 85% the fat calories!  It ain’t stickin to those ribs people
So, my take home message… then I’ll reveal 😉  Don’t be scared of fats.  When eaten the right way, they’ll actually cause you to eat LESS because you will be more full.

Ok, ok ok… I know some of you cheated and scrolled down to here so…
gentrygirlsign
I promise Gentry is super excited.  I just happened to turn off Sesame Street in order to take this picture, so she was a little mad at me at the moment.
Our reaction:  We. Are. SO. Relieved.  Don’t get me wrong, a little boy would’ve been nice, but we both wanted two closets full of pink tutus and tiaras.  Plus, I have this girl name I’m in love with, still trying to convince Justin it’s perfect.  Never have I ever had a boy name I loved.  Some people asked if we were sad we wouldn’t be having a boy (since this is probably our last attempt) and guess what WE AREN’T!  We are perfectly happy with that God gave us.
Justin and Macon, watch out.  You are now officially outnumbered.
Although we almost didn’t find out Tuesday.  Little missy had her thighs so tightly crossed we couldn’t see anything.  I had to get up, go to the bathroom, massage my belly, roll all around, and then she gave us “the show.”  Justin said she can now keep those thighs together though 😉
Don’t forget to link up your Baby Bump Updates below!!

Double gender mamas… do you feel like you’ve missed out on something?  Or if you aren’t a mama, how would you feel?
Anyone not find out the gender?  How do you do it?
What’s your favorite saturated fat?!
27 thoughts on “Why Fat is Good for You and Gender Reveal… good combo

  1. Tina Muir says:

    Ahhhh CONGRATULATIONS!!!! What an adorable way to share! She is so cute! My family was just my sister and I, and I like it that way, of course I have always wondered what it would be like to have a brother, but I think it is good…..although sometimes I think my dad wishes he had a guy to do manly stuff with hahaha! I think it is very exciting 🙂

    And as for good fats, YES! I am totally in with this, and I think my good fat consumption is a huge part of why my blood work numbers are so high even when I run my body so hard into the ground with my training. It makes a huge difference!

  2. Lexa says:

    Congratulations! That is wonderful news. As you know we are having another girl and couldn’t be happier. Since we are having a summer baby where my 3 yo was a winter baby I still have to do plenty of shopping. I can honestly say that I just wanted a healthy baby and didn’t care what we had after having a molar pregnancy last year. My husband wanted a girl though. It is what he knows – his words. We have the opposite problem we had a boy name from my first pregnancy but my daughter didn’t have a name for 2 days in the hospital. We started talking about names and got nowhere. I will take the remaining 18 weeks to figure out. Congrats again and can’t wait to follow along!

    • bemomstrong says:

      AHH Names… that will have to be another announcement, probably in 6 months! We can’t decide either! Luckily Gentry and this gal will only be a month apart so I will be able to reuse a lot!
      Emma

  3. milesandblessings says:

    EEEEEE!!!!!! I am SO excited for you!!!! I had the same reaction when I found out I was having my second girl! I never wanted to say that I wanted a girl because I would be thrilled with whatever God gave us…but I did kinda want it to be a girl…I am more experienced with girls :)!!! Sisters are great 🙂 Congrats!!!!!

  4. Allyson says:

    Congratulations! Someone once told they had read that families with children all the same gender tend to be closer. I know lots of families with different gender children that are plenty close but I can still see how a case could be made for this fact. For myself I already feel like my two boys will be best friends and that is so heartwarming. I see the bond that people have with their same-sex sibling and, having a brother myself, I can see that it’s something special! Plus, practically speaking, I get such satisfaction getting to use all my “boy” stuff again!

  5. Kim says:

    Congratulations!!! You lucky girl. 🙂 And lucky Gentry–I always wanted a sister but got 4 brothers instead! I don’t feel like I’m missing out because of my double gender situation, in itself, but I am still very sad about missing out on a daughter specifically. I would be absolutely thrilled to have 2 girls–I’d also love those two pink closets. 🙂 🙂 So excited for you!

  6. mommyrunfaster says:

    Oh hooray!!! What awesome news! Sisters are the best. I don’t feel like we’ll be disappointed either way either… But I have a few more months to find out!

  7. Kyra says:

    So exciting! In my family there was me and my brother. Which my parents thoughts was good luck. Except I’m totally Dad’s buddy when it comes to sports- Go Rockies! I think God gives us exactly what we need and your family is blessed!

  8. Sue @ This Mama Runs For Cupcakes says:

    Yey for baby girls! congrats! Part of me wonders what it would like to have a little girl since I have two boys, but I’m convinced I would have another boy and well….I just can’t handle another boy, so I’m not willing to spin the roulette wheel 🙂

  9. 40weekslater says:

    Congratulations!!! I’m having my second boy this June and love the idea of having 2 boys in the house. I don’t think we are missing out at all! Love our babies

  10. Jenereesa @ ScootaDoot says:

    YAY! I have two boys are they are absolutely fantastic together. They’re best buds, they get each other, and they rely on one another. I love having two of the same gender. 🙂

Leave a Reply

