Stop Starving Yourself!

First off HAPPY MEMORIAL DAY!  Take a moment (or all day) to celebrate the real reason for the season please!


As a tribute to my last STOP post, I thought I’d discuss another subject I’ve heard A LOT about from ladies with the upcoming swimsuit season arriving.

I am just going to starve myself so I can stand looking at myself in a bathing suit for the next 3 months.

As great as this sounds in theory, it’s actually HORRIBLE for your metabolism.  I keep reading diet plans that are restricting women to under 1300 calories a day.  THIS.  IS.  NOT.  GOOD.

Yes, weight gain is all about burning more than you are putting in, BUT starving yourself is not the way ladies.  In fact, when you do starve yourself, your body quickly goes into “survival mode,” which actually shut downs your metabolism.  So even though you THINK you are consuming less calories and doing good for that bikini you bought last weekend, you’re actually burning less calories than you would should you be eating more.

Remember, we were created based on the fact that food was scarce, we had to hunt for it and we consumed it in little amounts as we gathered throughout the day. Our bodies weren’t meant to eat JUST a breakfast, lunch and dinner.  Our bodies were meant to get nutrition every 2-3 hours.  Our bodies were meant to SNACK.

O.M.G You are actually telling me to snack?!

Yes!  Now, this also means more eating, and more calories.  BUT, think of your body as a windmill.

When wind is blowing, it’s spinning.  When food is pumped into your system, you’re burning calories.  When the wind stops (AKA you don’t feed that grumbling tummy for a few hours) the windmill stops (AKA that calorie burn is NADA).

This is probably the hardest point to get across to my clients, as well as myself.  I admit, I often think..

I’m going to have a big dinner tonight and a massive dessert from Shyndigz, so I better skimp on lunch and not eat until dinner.

Wrong and wrong.  Not only will you feel a 6.5 month pregnant lady

20140430-162048.jpg

(Ahem… ME) when you finish eating that dinner, but you’re

1) Bound to eat more

20140305-180244.jpg

and

2) Haven’t burned hardly any calories leading up to dinner because you have been starving yourself all day

Trust me, I do NOT advocate skipping indulgences.  We only live once.  I also do NOT advocate eating ice cream and cookies for snacks.  It’s a delicate balance.

So, what am I supposed to do?  Hook up an IV of food throughout the day?

Here are my suggestions:

Take on the go “pop-able” snacks throughout the day in your purse, pocket, desk, etc.  (nuts, dried fruit, Chia Bars- love them, apples, bananas, etc.)

20140427-141957.jpg

Yes, this is from a baby shower I hosted awhile back, but perfect snack options- hummus + veggies.  And oh-so portable.

Combine a complex carb with a protein (fruit/veggie + nut butter, bread + chicken/egg, yogurt + granola, etc.)

20140416-151801.jpg

Eat 2/3 of your calories BEFORE 1PM.  This means a massive breakfast, a snack, an average lunch, a snack and a tiny dinner.  Oh, and a massive dessert to reward yourself 😉

20140412-135536.jpg

For those nights you are going out and eating massively at dinner… here are my suggestions:

amrttzooma1

Be VERY GOOD about the meals you eat leading up to that dinner- so combine lean protein with complex carbs each time.

Skip the bread pre-meal.  You can get bread anytime, think: no bread means big dessert (compromise).

20140317-095142.jpg

I have way too many dessert pictures.

Spread the massive dinner over several meals.  We overpay for meals out anyway, might as well enjoy 2-3 servings of them.  Order a to-go box with the meal and place half of it in there.  By not having the other half on your plate, you won’t be as tempted to eat it.  BUT, be sure to put the go-to plate UNDER the table.  Out of sight out of mind.

NEVER NEVER NEVER share dessert or skimp on it.  Just go for it.  You’ve been so good up until then!


So ladies, STOP STARVING and start eating.  I dare you to try snacking between breakfast and lunch for 5 days straight.  Then come back to me and tell me how you feel by the end of the day.

Speaking of food, Justin and I are headed to San Fran this weekend as he races the Escape from Alcatraz.  Yes, swimming with sharks, he’s crazy.  If you’ve ever been out that way, WHERE SHOULD WE EAT?

What are your go-to healthy snacks?

Do you snack between meals or do you tend to “save up” for dinner?

7 thoughts on “Stop Starving Yourself!

  1. Tina Muir says:

    YES! This is so important! I am constantly preaching this to anyone I know! Especially the part about skipping dinner, as your poor body gets waaaayyy more food, and then it is stuck with a giant lump to digest after starving and eating itself all day!

    I try to encourage brunch instead of dinner, as your body has the whole afternoon to digest it. I am lucky I guess as my running mileage means my metabolism is faster than most, but I still eat healthy snacks. I actually have a post on blog with over 30 healthy snacks between 150-200 calories which I use as an athlete to keep me going between meals….or between other snacks hahah

  2. jessielovestorun says:

    This post was spot on. I realy hope if anything, this post influences and teaches women (and men) how important it is to EAT. Thanks for sharing. Oh & when it comes to bread… this girl can’t and will never pass up Olive Garden Breadsticks 🙂 Haha!

  3. Running Betty says:

    Excellent post! I try to eat lots of small snacks throughout the day to keep my energy up and to prevent getting seriously hungry. Sometimes it feels like I’m eating all day! Lol but I’m active and 70-80% of the food I eat is healthy so I am able to maintain a healthy weight without having to think about it too much.

  4. Change of Pace says:

    Such a great post, and I love that you promote balance!
    Have fun in SF, and good luck to Justin!! One of my girlfriends is doing it, too.
    You must have a sundae from Ghiradelli; other than that I’m not a huge foodie to suggest other places!

  5. Jaclyn @ Bumpsweat says:

    I’m a big snacker. At least 2, if not 3, each day. I make homemade lara bars quite often; they’re nice to have around to grab and go. But the classic PB & banana combo wins every time.

Leave a Reply

