Benefits of working out that baby bump and a Giveaway

If you’ve followed me at all this pregnancy journey, you know that I’ve been keeping this growing bump of mine active.  I’m hoping not TOO active because we are already experiencing one high energy toddler and dog at the moment.  Is there room for another?!

bmsgentry1

Many expecting moms tell me

I can’t do this now.

Or

I shouldn’t start doing that exercising stuff now.

Wrong and wrong!  Even the instructors at some of my classes and said over and over to me

Emma, you probably shouldn’t do this.

Well, I appreciate your concern, but I AM!  Yes, there are limitations to pregnant women when it comes to exercising.  The supine position for longer than 5 minutes should be avoided and OF COURSE if any heavy cramping or bleeding occurs while working out you should most definitely stop.  HOWEVER, if you aren’t experiencing any of these symptoms GO FOR IT.

I am hands down more in shape and stronger than I was a year ago at this time when I wasn’t pregnant!  I’ve listened to my body, but I’m cardio-ing, pumping and stretching each and every day and I think that’s why I’ve made it to basically week 28 without any hiccups.

20140329-135157.jpg

So, if you are pregnant and thinking of working out, START!  Don’t wait… just listen to your body.  Here is how your baby and body will thank you

1) You will likely gain less weight (on average 7 lbs less than those that don’t exercise)

2) Labor and delivery may be easier.  All that cardio training and Body Pumping is just prepping you for your marathon- AKA delivery!

3) You cut your gestational diabetes risk by as much as 27%

4) Active moms to be are just in better moods thanks to those endorphins… your husband will appreciate that.

gentrystare

5) You’re less likely to get constipated… I am EVIL when I am so thank God I work out!

6) You’ll lose the baby weight faster and easier and you will be fitter later in your life!

7) THE MOST IMPORTANT- You’ll feel like a hot mama… not a beached whale!  Well, until you hit about week 30 and then there’s no hope for any of us!

Speaking of working out while pregnant…

20140604-130204-46924410.jpg

Today I am partnering with For Two Fitness®,

which offers performance apparel that functions and flatters like nothing else.  They are committed to celebrating and supporting moms who are striving for healthy, fit pregnancies.  Exactly what I’m trying to do over here… minus the aches and pains this little gal is giving me!

Why For Two Fitness Rocks…

  • Their Perfect Pregnancy Jacket and Hoodie are long enough to cover even the most pregnant belly.  Clever pleated pockets and side ruching accent the belly and flatter your figure.  French Terry and Lycra mix for supreme comfort and stretch, as well as recovery.  Two outer pockets, and two inner pockets.  Contrast zipper.  Goes with everything!

 

  • Their fabrics are high performance, soft, moisture wicking, and originate from the same mills as the fancy athletic apparel you already wear.   Maternity clothes are expensive as it is, so they work hard to keep these high end, specialty garments affordable.   In fact, many of their price points are lower than standard high quality athletic wear counterparts.  Many of their repeat customers are fitness professionals with very high standards.

 

  • They offer basic neutrals and vivid, on-trend colors that pop.  Their slogans and graphics are perfect for pregnancy announcements, and for feeling great in your ever-changing body. You’ll exude joy and confidence in your For Two Fitness apparel, and no will wonder “Is she, or isn’t she?”    They also carry a Signature line without graphics, which will soon become your everyday staples.

 

Body By Baby Racerback Tank TopSix Pack Abs Racerback Tank Top
  • They design their own garments in-house, and their slogans are registered trademarks, so you won’t find these cute tops anywhere else.

 

So, enter below if you are or will be pregnant… or call your girlfriends that are!  The contest will run until Sunday!

If you currently aren’t sporting a bump or won’t be, feel free to chime in with your thoughts on exercising while pregnant!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

34 thoughts on “Benefits of working out that baby bump and a Giveaway

  1. Allyson says:

    I’m so happy you wrote this. Putting your feet up for 9 months is such an antiquated way of thinking. The more the word gets out about this and women get educated then the healthier the moms and babies will be. Exercise made me feel so much better and energetic during my pregnancies. And I’m so glad that you added that it’s ok to start while pregnant, too. Exercise is actually ACOG recommended during pregnancy even if you did not exercise before! Great post.

  2. Karen Loves to Run (@karenlovestorun) says:

    I really admire how active you are during pregnancy. I hope to (one day) be able to run while I am pregnant. If you are feeling well and your doctor says it’s okay – good for you! Staying active keeps you happy and I’m sure baby, Gentry and Justin love that 🙂
    These tanks are the cutest ever!
    Karen @karenlovestorun

  3. Tina Muir says:

    Love this! Something I feel very passionate about as I know when I am pregnant somewhere down the road, I will not want to give up running completely. It is too important to me! This is great to read you are keeping active. 🙂

  4. Change of Pace says:

    I adore your bump and love that you promote fitness to moms to be, too! I think it’s super important and hope that I can stay as active as I am now when we have kids (both in pregnancy and after)!

  5. Lexa says:

    I love seeing Moms being active during their pregnancy. It is knowing your body and going with what works for you. I had to stop running last week as recovery was just taking too long. But I am happy to say that I made past 29 weeks. I thouht early on in my pregnancy that I would not be able to still go to my gym (TRX, Circuit training) after 30 weeks (most stop around 28 or so) but I am still going. Getting much slower but still going. Since I had to stop running (the shirt I wanted) I would say I would like the “Training for two” shirt. Love following your blog that is promoting Moms, fitness and pregnancy.

  6. Caty W. says:

    I love the Running for Two tank! I was very tempted to get it for my half marathon 3 weeks ago (at 25 weeks preggo). Being able to run while pregnant has been a huge blessing! I wasn’t able to with my first, and I was miserable the entire 9 months. This second time around has been so much easier, and I do not feel like a “beached whale” at almost 28 weeks! Here’s to hoping we (little man and I) can continue to run and Body Pump it up for the remaining 3 months! 🙂
    And, I’m slightly jealous – my due date was pushed back and is now September 4! =P

  7. Anel says:

    I love the sweating for two tank top! It’s a very broad logo so you can wear it anytime! That nap one is super cute too, though! Thank you! Such and encouraging post! The first few months of pregnancy were not the greatest for me, but now I am getting back into action and sweating for two!! You always hear “no, don’t do that, it’s not safe, etc. etc.”, it’s so discouraging and it makes you feel bad that you want to stay active. Your post does the opposite and I thank you for it!

  8. Emma says:

    Almost halfway through my first pregnancy and still grappling with how to continue making exercise a regular part of my life. Going from running my first marathon next year to feeling like I should barely break a sweat has been such a transition. Thanks for this post to remind me that I can and should keep up with exercise while taking care of myself!

    • bemomstrong says:

      No problem! So glad you’re able to keep up exercise. Babies have been proven to have more brain capacity when moms exercise too!! Keep up whatever you can mama!

  9. Catherine @ foodiecology says:

    Thank you for this post!
    I was practicing Bikram yoga 3 times a week and running (occasionally) close to a year before I found out I was pregnant, and I like to think I was (am) in the best shape I’ve been in since I was a 13-year old gymnast. I took a break from Bikram (I tend to push too hard in the hot room and there wasn’t enough legitimate medical info supporting its safety for my mind), but I’ve kept running till about 16 weeks (it’s 90* and humid here!) and started swimming, Barre, and prenatal Pilates. I also walk 20-30 minutes daily, and I attribute 90% of my easy (so far, at 22 weeks) pregnancy to my activity and diet (I’ll leave 10% for luck/genetics!). Most people are supportive of me and speak admirably of my exercise, but every now and then I feel judged or receive a negative “you need to take it easy.” No!!! Of course I listen to my body and modify, but I know I’m going my baby and self a great service by staying active. As long as my doc agrees, you better believe I’ll stay at it (& rest when appropriate and when my body says to). Plus, I really do feel sexy (though in a few weeks that may change, haha).

  10. jen says:

    i’m 27 weeks and also very active with few issues so far (knock on wood for this to continue!). i’m running and doing lots of yoga and trusting my body to tell me when to back off. it’s working very well so far. hoping this continues throughout the pregnancy. best of luck to you!

  11. Lizzyana says:

    Love this post. I am 25 weeks pregnant with my first baby and have been able to stay pretty active throughout my pregnancy. I plan to keep it up as long as my body allows it. I feel noticeable better the days that I do. This tank is too cute! I would love to be able to enjoy it the last few months of my pregnancy!

  12. Lizzyana says:

    Love this post! I am 25 weeks pregnant and have stayed active so far. I feel noticeably better when I am able to workout versus days I am not. The tanks are too cute! I would love to be able to enjoy wearing this to the gym these last 4 months!

  13. Traci @yellowWISHBONE says:

    I will be 28 weeks pregnant on Friday and staying active has been a life saver. I feel so much better on the days I do some sort of workout! I started taking Barre3 classes when I was 14 weeks and it is keeping me sane (so naturally I love the barre tank)! Fingers crossed for an easier birth due to staying active! 🙂

  14. Manda Healey says:

    I love this! I am currently pregnant and have remained active and exercising the whole time. I feel great!

    I love the Signature Racerback Tank Top’s. I love the dark pink color, but I am boring so I always go for the black! 🙂

  15. Amanda Robinette says:

    Love the tanks in either berry or royal! 24 weeks pregnant and still trying to remain active as possible while chasing 3 other little ones!

  16. Jeni Martin says:

    Love the Tanks, I wore the Running for two tank last weekend running Ragnar Relay Chicago. I find it hard to stay motivated some days to work out, but I feel much better on the days I do.

  17. abbrogle says:

    I haven’t worked out as much this pregnancy as my last due to having to run full speed after our toddler but this is great motivation and a great reminder! I love their tanks:)

  18. marcia says:

    I absolutely love the For Two Fitness tanks! I am currently 32 weeks pregnant and still “running for two”! I would love the berry color!

  19. Heather M. says:

    GAAHhhh I want the running tank so bad to tell my husband that our efforts worked! Hoping to do that this month, too!

Leave a Reply

