RVA Barre Review and a Winner

I was first introduced to Barre in San Francisco.

I went to The Bar Method and I have to admit, I was not impressed initially.  Being the cardio queen that I am, if I’m not dripping sweat, smelling like a dirty camel and heart pounding, I’m not satisfied.

Then, I woke up the next day and felt pings and pains in parts of my arms, butts and legs I never knew existed.  I then realized I really WASN’T working every muscle in my body through running, cycle and bootcamps.

How is that possible?

Since then, I’ve been dying to get back and kill those muscles again.  Crazy?  I am married to Justin.

20140604-130438-47078214.jpg

What is barre?  From SparkPeople

While all barre workouts differ slightly in structure, most methods incorporate exercises done at a ballet barre (you can use the back of a chair at home) combined with elements of ballet, Pilates, and yoga.  Barre exercises rely mainly upon one’s bodyweight for resistance, and the moves challenge your core stability and balance. Barre workouts are designed to help an individual achieve a “dancer’s body” — strong, sleek, and streamlined.

While I’m not saying a dancer’s body is perfection, if their muscles can stand that workout daily then I want to be that strong!

I tried out Corner Barre in Short Pump.  It was a cute, clean studio and I seriously wanted the chandeliers for my own house.  They had quite a crowd at the 8:15AM Friday class and all of the women seemed to be frequent flyers.

It definitely made me sore Saturday, no doubt, but it made me realize what I loved about The Bar Method.  That instructor was less about doing the exercises herself and more about correcting form and syncing with the music.  I did ballet when I was 5, but I can’t even remember what I had for dinner last night, so no way I can remember how to hold each pose.  And, correct form is SO KEY in barre.  You can easily cheat or easily injure yourself by performing the moves incorrectly.

I am going to go back and try some different instructors and varieties of classes, though.  Always give something 3 shots!


Sunday I was able to try a friend’s new PureBarre studio out off River Road.

I just fell in love for the 3rd time.  I’ll let you guess the other two…

purebarre1

(All photos taken from PureBarre’s instagram account)

I have never hated to love something so much.  Just the right amount of direction and correction and perfect timing with motivating music.  I couldn’t ask for anything more.

From PureBarre’s website:

In just 55 minutes you will achieve a full-body workout concentrating on the areas women struggle with the most: hips, thighs, seat, abdominals and arms. The Pure Barre technique is low-impact, protecting your joints by avoiding any bouncing or jumping. Each strength section of the workout is followed by a stretching section in order to create long, lean muscles without bulk. The technique works to defy gravity by tapering everything in and lifting it up!

I plan to do an entire post dedicated to barre technique after I happily torture my body through a few more sessions.

And Sarah did an AMAZING job decorating.  You almost forget you are dying inside because you keep wondering what color paint she used and if it’ll work in your house.

purebarre2

If it wasn’t a 20 minute drive from my house I would literally be there daily.  And, if Justin couldn’t see the charges on the credit card I would ignore the drive and be there twice a day.  If you live in RVA you must visit Sarah over there.  If I wasn’t 2 months away from popping a kid out, I’d beg Sarah to hire me and let me kill Justin in a workout everyday.

Not quite sure how I’m going to teach cycle or bootcamp this week since walking is now proving difficult…

Still need to visit RichmondBarre, but PureBarre is going to be one hard 55 minutes to top.


And finally,  congratulations to my For Two Fitness tank winner

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Have you tried Barre?  

Which studio has been your fave?

What are your thoughts on it whether you have or not?

14 thoughts on “RVA Barre Review and a Winner

  1. Allyson says:

    Emma you NEED to somehow try Lithe Method. I used to do it in Philly, the owner has 2 locations there and just opened one in NYC. It’s a combo of barre, cardio and cheer. I’m not a cheerleader or dancer but basically it’s barre techniques but with the added benefit of cardio-most classes make you drippig wet in sweat. The owner/creator Lauren Boggi has a blog-you should totally check it out. (And then convince her to let you open one in RVA-I miss it so much!!)

  2. Tina Muir says:

    SO awesome!!! I have always wondered about how that works and what it entails…now I know 🙂 I felt the same way about hot yoga when i went. Did not really enjoy it, but somehow kept going back, and found peace in it! I would love to give this a try someday 🙂

  3. Peg says:

    I would love to try barre, but I don’t have a dancers body, I’m in process of losing 45 lbs, don’t have a 5 carat diamond ring , and would NEVER buy Lulumon clothes. From what I hear, I wouldn’t fit in.

  4. vitatrain4life says:

    Oh how I wish I could try a Barre class! I don’t think they offer them anywhere near me:-( I’ll have to live through your blog posts…& maybe take a road trip to Boston to try one! How’s that for far??

  5. milesandblessings says:

    I have never tried Barre…and I actually kinda want to, but I don’t think there is a class anywhere near me! I have been threatening to do some cross training and try to strengthen other muscles and make me a stronger runner and Barre is one of the cross training methods I was looking into!

  6. Jolene says:

    I LOVE Pure Barre! I have been going to 5-6 classes a week for 3 months and have noticed incredibly changes in my body (and I was in good shape to begin with!). My running has improved tremendously. I am seriously an addict!

  7. Laura @ Mommy Run Fast says:

    I have not yet tried Barre but I’ve heard this from so many women- you don’t realize what a good workout it is until the next day! I’d love to try it… the high impact moves plus running don’t always mix well for me. Low impact is key (especially these days!)

Leave a Reply

