She’s here!

Monday at 2:41PM God blessed us with a second baby girl- Sutton Delaney. She came in at 38 weeks and two days shy of her scheduled c-section at a whopping 5lbs 14oz and 18 inches long.

IMG_5645.JPG

Here’s the timeline…


Monday

5AM alarm and change into workout clothes
5:15AM tabata workout I’ve been doing every morning trying to get her out.
5:20AM water broke? Literally (no really, literally) during a burpee.  Not trying to be macho or brag here, but I think this counts as a pretty good story, considering the rest is pretty boring!
9AM go to hospital and go through 2 negative texts before last minute completing a POSITIVE 3rd test proving my water did break.
2PM scheduled c-section
2:41 PM She’s here!
The rest of the night, a blur.  Kind of like this picture we took soon after Sutton’s birth.  At least G is excited about it!

IMG_5630.JPG

The unhighlight of the day… Justin had been promising me pizza from The Daily Kitchen after I delivered her (since I couldn’t eat for 26 hours).  No food until 12 hours post surgery.  WAMP WAMP.


Tuesday

LOTS of pain as the meds wore off. C-section mamas- You are going to feel GREAT the morning after because your block is still felt. DON’T do anything but lay around all day. I made the mistake of getting up and walking all around. I PAID for it that afternoon and evening. But after a nightly dose of some meds, I slept like a champ (well, between feedings).
Daily Kitchen pizza was offered, but I had absolutely no appetite.  WAMP WAMP again.  BUT, Justin did bring me their Power Breakfast- buckwheat pancakes, scrambled egg whites and chicken sausage.  I somehow found an appetite for that!

Highlight of the day though, despite the pain and lack of pizza…

IMG_5641.JPG

Daddy and his TWO princesses.  I’m still the queen though 😉


Wednesday
Still sore but NOWHERE near Tuesday’s pain. Sat around a lot more!
Appetite slowly came back as my body returned to regular 😉 BUT still not regular enough to scarf down the pizza I’ve been obnoxiously mentioning.

Absolutely ECSTATIC about going home the next day.  Cabin fever sat in like CRAZY.  I even started getting jealous of people who said they noticed gas prices go down when they filled up on the way in, just because they were able to leave the building!


Thursday
HOME!!!

IMG_5649.JPG

Gentry busted in the front door with my parents and actually said

Where’s baby sister?

Pizza update- still haven’t had it.  But don’t you worry.  One night next week we are making our first family outing as a foursome, grabbing possibly TWO entire pizzas for me and some Shyndigz.  You didn’t think I’d mention food in RVA without including them?!

As far as how life progresses from here on out… Will keep you posted as I find time to!  For now, I am a little freaked out that I

1) Can’t drive for almost 2 weeks

2) Can’t pick up Gentry for at least 2 weeks

3) Need to entertain Gentry while I nurse, pump and keep a newborn alive

4) I am responsible for TWO human beings lives… EEEK!


What was your birthing story?

Moms of two advice?

Cabin fever?  When has that hit you?

25 thoughts on “She’s here!

  1. Stephanie Whittington says:

    Congratulations! She is precious. Just a word of advice….I felt like I recovered so much easier from 2nd section and completely overdid it, resulting in massive infection. Take it easy even if you feel great!

  2. Sue @ This Mama Runs For Cupcakes says:

    Aww congrats my friend! She is beautiful! As for advice…there is none, you will go into autopilot and just do it. Oh, and the TV will become your friend as much as I hate to say that. I was a zombie because my husband went right back to work flying for Southwest and I was a single mama 4-5 days a week when #2 was a newborn. Enjoy this time!! As you know it goes so quick! Hugs!

  3. milesandblessings says:

    Oh! I am so excited I can hardly stand it!!!! Just take it easy and enjoy it…that is easy for me to say but would be hard for me to do! I get cabin fever too and it is pretty hard for me to slow down! It was pretty hard for me last week with Courtney in the hospital for 4 days…I was ready to go home! (and I wasn’t even the sick one)!
    She is just so very very cute!
    I must say I had a time adjusting to 2. I tried to take the out by myself too soon and it ended rather emotionally. I think Courtney was less than a week old and my other daughter was not even 2 and I tried to take them both to Target. Bad idea!…I swear I am not a bad mom and this has never happened since, but this happened… I got my older daughter out of the car and then while I was getting the car seat out of the car she wandered into the parking lot, a car honked and I panicked and then cried (hormones!). I then put them back in the car, went home and had my husband stop at the store on his way home :). Personally I thought the 1 to 2 transition was a little rough, but it definitely gets better and I love that my girls are close :)!
    Play dough is a great entertainment tool for a little while 🙂

    • bemomstrong says:

      Thanks girl. Sounds like a normal trip to Target with JUST gentry for me! Haha. Plenty of people do it and I will adjust!
      Glad Courtney is feeling better! Hate when these babies are sick!

  4. Carrie says:

    You asked for birth stories but I think I have shared on your previous blog. My first daughter was born in the parking lot of our birth center. I was alone, standing beside the car while hubby ran into get someone and her head came out. No pushing, just came out. The midwife arrived to catch the rest of her and took her shirt off to wrap around my baby. You know how they say that you will “know when you are in labor”, ummm not so much for me. The second was 3 hours from first cramp to delivery. Oh and with both girls we were back home with a newborn in 6 hrs or less. Enjoy the 2 girls. It is hard the first few months and then I think it gets easier. My youngest screamed 24/7 her first year due to some medical issues but now my two girls are best friends.

  5. Laura @ Mommy Run Fast says:

    What a beautiful little peanut! My first was early and just 5 14 as well. I know- those beginning weeks are intimidating and I can’t imagine the no driving, no picking up toddler restrictions too.. but hopefully it will go quickly. Thinking of you- I know you can handle it!

  6. Kristin @ A Mom on the Run says:

    Your girls are both so beautiful! I had very quick labors with both of my kids, but I’m long-winded so here’s the links to my birth stories — http://amomontherun.com/bradens-birth-story/ and http://amomontherun.com/mackenzies-birth-story/ — they were both fast (if Adam had driven any slower, Mackenzie may have been born on the way to the hospital!)

    I was too sick following Braden’s birth for cabin fever to hit me and with Mackenzie, I was trying to soak up every moment that I could since I missed a lot with Braden’s. I wasn’t ready to go back to work after three months with her. Actually she’s been home with me all week because she’s sick and so snuggly, I kind of wish I was home with her full time.

  7. Jade says:

    Congrats! And that is awesome burpee causing the water to break (well probably not but still!). I can’t believe how tiny! I create big babies that at already the 34 week mark ours was already 5 lbs. Still love them cute lil babies!

  8. Change of Pace says:

    Huge congratulations on another beautiful additon to your family, Emma. I adore the names; they suit you guys!
    I love that picture of G. She looks so proud!
    Hope you’re recovering well and making due with all the restrictions the first couple weeks. Can’t wait to see more photos of the precious ladies in your life 🙂

Leave a Reply

