How It’s Been Going

Well Sutton is officially 1 week old (and some change).  Here’s a 1 week comparison.

gentrysutton

 I feel like the week both flew by and dragged by.  The hospital stay DRAGGED by, but the nighttime and the daytime FLY BY.  And, by nighttime, I’m referring to the time I get to actually sleep.

So here’s the breakdown…

SUTTON’S PROGRESS

Sutton had to treat some moderate jaundice in the hospital because of our differing blood types.  She was under the “blue light special” everyday we were there, which was a little tough because no one could pick her up except for me to feed.  Luckily, we were able to bring her home without any football stadium lights, but she still has a mild case of it.  I’m happy to report that she is looking less like she went on a Hawaiian cruise and more like my pale self!

IMG_5682.JPG

I have noticed, as her yellowness tones down, that she is having more alert times.  Luckily, her “alert” times don’t involve pulling apart cabinets or rearranging furniture, like Gentry’s do!

IMG_5652.JPG

FEEDING

I am currently nursing Sutton.  I did this with Gentry up until about 4 months, when the lactation lady finally told me my body wasn’t meant for it.  I was eating all the right food, taking Fenugreek (which makes you smell like maple syrup by the way), pumping after EVERY feeding and drinking gallon after gallon of water.  With Sutton, I’m dumping a tablespoon of Brewer’s Yeast into my morning bowl of oatmeal and am pumping whenever I can.  With Gentry running around in destructive mode, it’s hard to get any sessions in.  Most of mine take place during her naptime (the 2PM feeding).  Sutton was already back to birthweight at her appointment Tuesday, so I’m hopeful I’ll be able to keep it up.

But, for the record… I HATE NURSING.  It is the MOST unnatural experience, in my opinion, and the constant leaking, squirting, etc. (sorry for any males reading this) is just not my cup of tea.  But it’s free and it’s the “gold standard” so I’m going as long as I can stand it!

SLEEPING

Because Sutton is so tiny, I need to feed her at least every 3 hours, even if she’s knocked out to the world.  This is a necessity, obviously, but sometimes she’s so passed out I barely get her to eat.  Fortunately, she is pretty much lasting that next 3 hour stretch.  I’m a VERY patterned person, and we’ve managed to feed daily on the 2, 5, 8 and 11 schedule.  Most of the times, she goes straight back to sleep so I do get about a 2 hour stretch.  However, I’m used to starting my day at 5AM, so after that feeding, I can’t go back to sleep.  This is when I wonder where my lazy bones went… I can be as lazy as I want when Justin suggests cleaning the house, but at 5AM… NO WAY.

GENTRY

Gentry is in love with her “baby sister.”  Every morning she pops out of bed saying “I go downstairs to see baby sister.”  She is (for the most part) very gentle with her, but does want to hold her and put her in her strollers.  We are working on that.  We are also working on not getting into all of her baby accessories.  Do those things have weight limits?

IMG_5670.JPG

G is also testing the water- she’s seeing what she can get away with.  The terrible twos couldn’t have come at a better time!

I do feel guilty in the AM’s a lot with Gentry.  I admit, I plop her in front of Youtube and Peppa Pig so that she will eat her breakfast and I can feed her sister.  Then, I attempt at getting a pumping session in, so the Peppa Pig episode continues.  What is it with that show?  She watches the same episode over and over and it never gets old.  Once I’m done feeding S, then I feel guilty devoting all my time to G.  Ah the saga of having two kids.  I’m sure it only gets worse!

IMG_5656.JPG

MY RECOVERY

So, I haven’t been able to drive since the surgery and really shouldn’t until 2 weeks out.  That has been tough.  Not being able to get in a sweat sesh until my follow-up appointment September 22 has be REAL tough.  But, the toughest, not being able to pick up Gentry.  I told her I have a boo boo and she seems to be respecting that.  We will see how long that lasts!

So that’s a quickie update.  In love with having two kids and all the fun and drama that’s already and will come!

Any advice?

Any questions?

Any updates on your life?

9 thoughts on “How It’s Been Going

  1. milesandblessings says:

    Your house is so clean for having a newborn and 2 year old :)…kudos to you :)! I HATED nursing too! If you can do it and it works for you than that is great and I am jealous. I did it 3 months with the first and 2 with the 2nd….and really just hated it! I did not make enough milk and got infections both times. It was way worse with my first, but still bad with my second. The infections gave me high fevers and at one point I was just pumping bottles of blood which my doctor said I could give the baby, but I just couldn’t bring myself to do it….way to gross for me!!! I told my husband that nursing her was worse than the actual labor and delivery :)! There was just nothing natural about it and I am sorry there is nothing natural about a machine hanging off of you making those noises as you pump…I felt slightly cow like :).
    You can drive soon right? Next week?
    Your kiddos are so very cute!!!!! Keep up the good work :). We are taking Courtney to a kidney doctor tomorrow to make sure the abscess is going away so I am praying that it is getting smaller!

  2. Stephanie Whittington says:

    Sounds like you are doing great! I think a schedule is key when you have the second one. Of course you always have to be flexible but with a basic routine your older one knows they will get their time with Mama! I hated nursing too. And it’s harder the second time too because you have another child around! Give yourself Grace is my best advice!

  3. Tina Muir says:

    Awwww two beautiful little girls! I bet Gentry will be a wonderful big sister. She has curly hair that reminds me of myself as a kid. It is good she is handling things so well. You rest up, and enjoy every moment!

  4. Sue @ This Mama Runs For Cupcakes says:

    Awww, she is so sweet! Ryan had to be under the lights for 5 days after he was born and then we had to wake him constantly to eat as well. I was only able to breastfeed for 6 months, but it was the most stressful 6 months ever. Some people it just comes naturally, to me it did not. You are doing great!!

  5. Kim @ Fittin Pretty says:

    Awww she’s so beautiful! And I agree–your house look amazing!! Ours has been a little more on the war zone side, and we can’t really figure out why… (the baby’s not doing it!). Good for you for nursing despite everything–I agree there’s some major grossness involved, but after pregnancy/delivery, what’s a little more grossness right? 🙂 Congrats again!!

  6. Change of Pace says:

    Love the update- thanks for posting about how everything it going! That’s great Sutton is back up to her birth weight! And how sweet does gentry sound with her?!
    My sister just had her second at the end of July. She said she feels so guilty, too, because she pops the older sister in front of the tv so she can feed, pump, etc. I think there is absolutely nothing wrong with that! It keeps everyone happy!

Leave a Reply

