Eating Clean As a Zombie

And by zombie, I mean operating on 4ish hours of sleep.  Sutton, I enjoy our midnight cuddles, but boy the day I get a 5-hour stretch is going to feel GLORIOUS.

IMG_5837.JPG

Zombies are not really known for their clean eating skills, but here is how I’ve managed to keep it going.  Gentry is usually in her room (she sings, reads and reenacts scenes from some unknown Broadway play for at least an hour every night) by 7PM.  Sutton has been getting fussy around then, so we also put her down for a quick cat nap.  I spend the next 30 minutes prepping meals for the next day.

IMG_5836.JPG

I get my bowl of… ready for it…

oatmeal/steel cut oats/quinoa/strawberries/cinnamon/flaxseed/chia seed

ready.

I also make up a plate for Gentry’s breakfast- fruit and some oatmeal muffin

and lunch- frozen veggies and a protein (remember all that pre-baby baking I was into?).

This makes the morning much smoother when I’m rushing to comfort or feed a hungry newborn and toddler and adult (I’m allowed to be hungry and fussy too).

We’ve been making plans up until lunch to wear Gentry out, so when we get home from it, it’s SO nice to plop that lunch plate down in front of her and actually have time to cook my own.  I’ve been using some of these recipes from my Pinterest site for her, but these are my two go-to’s when freezer stock is low.

Gentry naps from 1-4/5… and by nap, again, I mean audition for American Idol for a few hours.  I use this time to A#1 cuddle with Sutton, B#2 nap and C#3 prep dinner.  I realize working mamas don’t have these hours to do this.  If you come feed Sutton overnight for me so I can sleep 5+ hours, I’ll come prep for you for free 😉

 

Chicken, Bok Choy and Zucchini Pasta with Cauliflower Alfredo Sauce

 

IMG_5830.JPG

 

and… I even figured out how to make The Daily Kitchen’s DELISH Veggie Burger.  Ok, mine wasn’t quite as delicious, but I think that’s because I had to make it.  I totally forgot to take a picture but it looks a lot like this…

1/2 cup cooked pinto beans, mashed

1/2 cup cooked long grain rice

1/4 cup of sunflower seeds

1/4 cup walnuts

1/4 cup slivered almonds

1 TBS reduced sodium tamari

1 TBS Bragg’s Amino Acids

2 TBS nutritional yeast

2 TBS minced garlic

270 calories per burger and LOTS of protein and fiber… I’m too lazy to calculate!

1.  Place sunflower seeds, walnuts and almonds in blender and chop only enough to make small pieces (don’t take it to powder).

2.  Mix all ingredients together in a bowl so it gets paste-like… or enough to stick together.  Honestly, mine didn’t form that great of burger patties, so I stuck the concoction in the fridge for an hour and then carefully molded them into patties on a baking sheet.  If you find this problem, just cook at 375 for 15 minutes.  If yours turn out sticky enough, cook them in an oiled/non-stick pan.

3.  Voila.

Hope everyone has a blessed week!

How do you eat clean when there’s little time?

Favorite recipes to share?

6 thoughts on “Eating Clean As a Zombie

  1. vitatrain4life says:

    You are on it mama!!! Nice meal planning even with a newborn. See how that’s all paying off? I also love that Gentry sings and dances in her room for a few hours. Hey – whatever it takes!! Love seeing those baby pictures too 🙂

  2. Sue @ This Mama Runs For Cupcakes says:

    Eating clean requires SO much work. It’s really hard to find time. I usually have to take a Sunday afternoon/evening and just batch cook. Not really what I want to be doing with my time, but if I don’t, I end up eating like crap! Sutton is adorable!!

  3. fitmamalove says:

    I’m super impressed with your food prep skills on that little sleep! Hope you get a longer stretch soon! I haven’t seen those frozen spinach things before, I’ll have to check them out to have on hand in a pinch.

Leave a Reply

