Not-so-pizza pizza recipe

I have been out for the count the past week with congestion and lack of sleep (but who doesn’t have that).  Unfortunately, I’m pretty sure I passed this onto poor little Sutton this week, when I’m finally feeling back to normal.

IMG_5912.JPG

She says, give me the bottle, not the sickness.

But, this weekend, we are headed to PA to visit family and run the Hershey Half Marathon!  First post-baby real race.  Not expecting any earth shattering records, but secretly hoping to get in the 1:30’s (AKA 1:39:59 still counts).  My real post-baby race will come at the RVA Half in November!  My training plan has been dependent on Sutton’s feeding schedule, but I did manage an 11-miler on the treadmill Saturday,

IMG_5911.JPG

which wasn’t actually THAT bad.  If you haven’t started watching this show…

It got me through 11 miles on the treadmill so you KNOW it’s got to be good.  I’ve managed to also squeeze in several 7 and 8 milers, so I’m confident I can at least make it the 13.1… possibly.


I wanted to share a quick not-so-pizza recipe we had the other night.  Of course I didn’t take a picture of it, because that would’ve been what a good blogger does, but it’s a hybrid between this Socca Pizza recipe

and this Sweet Potato Quesadilla recipe.

Ingredients:

1 cup chickpea flour (garbanzo flour) or grind up enough cooked chickpeas for 1 cup

1 cup water

dash of salt

1 medium sweet potato

1.5 cups kale

dash of red pepper flakes

1/2 cup Parmesan cheese (really any cheese works)

oil

How to:

Pre-heat the broiler on oven. Boil a large pot of water. Cook potato in water until fork-tender, 7 to 10 minutes. Remove from heat, drain and let cool.  In a food processor, pulse potato, 1 tablespoon oil, red pepper and a pinch of salt until sauce is smooth.

Combine 1 cup chickpea flour with 1 cup of water and a dash of salt.  Mix completely and pour into a pie tin.  Place in broiler for 3-5 minutes.  Let cool for 5 minutes and **this is the trick part** flip the crust out of the pie pan onto a pizza dish and back into the pie pan to cook in the broiler for another 3-5 minutes.  This takes skill, just massage the crust back together if it flops like mine did!

Preheat oven to 400F.  Spread the potato sauce evenly over dough. Toss kale in remaining 1/2 tablespoon oil; top pizza with kale and Parmesan. Bake another 5-10 minutes, until cheese is melted and kale has wilted.

Benefits:

Read all about chickpea research and benefits HERE.  Basically lots of fiber and protein!  It also has been proven to prevent colon cancer and regulate blood sugar and insulin levels.

Kale = superfood.  It has it all people.  Literally scores almost a perfect ANDI score.

Sweet potato = yet another superfood.  B6, Iron, Vitamins D and C, Magnesium (the anti-stress mineral and good for heart, bone, blood artery, you name it function).

Pizza = a win every single time.

What’s on your menu this week?

6 thoughts on “Not-so-pizza pizza recipe

  1. vitatrain4life says:

    I think you’re right, and everyone has had some sort of cold/congestion. Good luck running Hershey! I would love to do that race someday… And I’ve heard great things about that show. I’ll check it out on my next treadmill long run 🙂

  2. Tina Muir says:

    Awwwww Sutton is SO adorable!!! And how exciting about the Hershey Half, that will be a good one to just enjoy and see how it goes, although you will probably surprise yourself! Hope you continue to feel better, and this quesadilla recipe sounds lovely, funny I made something similar last week, but with butternut squash 🙂 You should join us for meatless monday!

  3. jessielovestorun says:

    I had no idea you had family in Hershey! If only we were still in the States. I would totally of come & cheered you on. Next time! 🙂

    I’m glad your finally feeling better.. although, I hope precious Sutton starts to feel better now too. Colds are never fun.

    Safe travels this weekend!

Leave a Reply

