Shoes!

One thing people tend to ignore when finding out the cause of pains and aches are their shoes.  The wrong shoe can cause your foot to strike improperly.  Worn out shoes can also do the same thing.  This, in turn, can cause hamstrings, glutes, hips, back and even neck movements to be incorrect thus causing PAIN.  Ain’t nobody got time for that.  Often when my clients ask why their lower backs are hurting, I first ask them how long have they had their shoes.  Running shoes shouldn’t be put to the test much over 300 miles.  Cross training shoes can last longer, but need the sole to be evaluated every 5/6 months depending on how hard you’ve been rockin them.  It’s a kinetic chain, mess up the bottom (your foot strike) and everything is chaotic.

If you followed my old blog, you know I’m a hardcore Newton fan.  I love the colors, I love the fit and I finally found a new model (the Energy) where I’m starting to love the price (not the $160+ price tag).

IMG_5816

And I recently bought these cuties from New Balance..

IMG_1058.JPG

But boy are they NOT supportive.  In fact by 3PM each day my knees are killing me.  But aren’t they cute?  You can see I’m a pink fan.

But, FitFluential and Mizuno sponsored a campaign just as my Newton Energy’s were starting to fail and I jumped at the opportunity.

Arrives the Mizuno WaveRider 18 and my future fashion model

IMG_1073.JPG

Initially, I’ll be honest, I hated the color.  Black is not my thing unless is a little black one for a cocktail party or some slimming yoga pants.  And, I still hate the color.  I realize I should be going for comfort over fashion, but I admit I’m a little to vain to do that.

But, I will hand it to Mizuno, my feet loved them.  Loved loved LOVED them.  Almost enough to forget the color.  Almost.

From their website:

KEY FEATURES

  • An ideal heel fit and secure midfoot embrace make this lightweight trainer feel like a part of your foot.
  • The parallel Wave in the heel, lightweight U4ic midsole and optimal amount of forefoot flexibility all work together to make every stride smooth and flowing.

WHAT’S NEW

  • Refined toe-spring delivers a smooth, effortless toe-off
  • Upgraded premium sock liner provides more rebound and resiliency at every foot strike
  • New outsole design with added durability and shock attenuation

Ideal support because my ankles feel stable, my feet feel cushioned, but they only weigh 7.8oz.

Mizuno uses this term called HADO when describing their shoes.  What is Hado?

Hado is the intrinsic vibration pattern at
the atomic level in all matter, the smallest unit of energy. Its basis is the energy
of human consciousness’.

And what does this have to do with shoes?  Mizuno says their shoes harness this positive energy in every step.  Whether that’s correct or not, I’ll take as much positive energy as I can with these sleepless nights!

IMG_5951.JPG

Now, yes this post is sponsored in that I received a free pair, so you could say I’m just saying positive things to be nice.  But I’m not kidding when I say my feet LOVED them.  Now would I have bought these black beauties in the store?  No.  Would I run out and buy another black pair when these spoil?  No.  In fact, I’m not digging any of the Wave Rider’s colors.  I’m being honest.

But, I think Mizuno is now officially giving Newton a run for their money and is most definitely AT THE TOP of my radar when new shoe shopping time comes.

For now these black beautes will stay inside for my treadmill runs (I do run 95% on the treads) so they’ll get LOTS of covert action.  I’m vain, what can I say?

What are your favorite running shoes?

Ever tried Mizuno?

5 thoughts on “Shoes!

  1. Tina Muir says:

    Awesome! yes! Shoes can make all the difference, and I am glad you have found a pair that works for you. I absolutely love my Saucony Kinvara, and those are my go to shoes for training and racing. Yes, like you mentioned it helped that they are free, and saucony are kind enough to give me enough so I don’t have to buy shoes, but I still buy a few other pairs to rotate my shoes a little. By the way, your girls are gorgeous!!

  2. Change of Pace says:

    Very interesting review! After using Newtons for just walking and cross-training for the past few years I started running in them this spring/summer. They’re doing my body good.
    However, I’m always willing to try something new and have never given Mizunos a try! (I’ll admit- I’m not a black running shoe fan either 🙂 )

  3. Kim @ Fittin Pretty says:

    I bought a pair of Mizunos a few years ago, based largely on internet/blog peer pressure :), and wasn’t super happy with them. I went back to my first love, Asics, and will probably never cheat on them again! 🙂 Glad your experience was a good one though! Oh and I always need a shoe with at least some pink in it too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

