Kids Cook Monday

Ran into this blurb from my IdeaFit Fitness Journal magazine.

IMG_6118.JPG

LOVE this idea, will hate the clean up though.  Gentry has really gotten into my food prep these days.  I bought her a stool from Target and now she’s always my sous-chef.

IMG_6039.JPG

I prep that night’s dinner and the next morning’s breakfast as soon as we eat lunch and I put Sutton down for a nap… haha.  I laugh because rarely does she actually go down.

So, because of this, thought I’d start sharing a family-friendly recipe that you and the kiddos could create each Monday (even though today is technically Sunday).  Just be sure to add a glass of wine to your menu 😉

And check out the Kids Cook Monday website for more great ideas!

Since everyone loves breakfast foods, why not have the dinner version?

Veggie Pancakes

Adopted from HERE (a great website for kid recipes)

2 cups finely grated zucchini

2 cups finely grated carrots

1/2 cup corn kernels

1/2 cup red pepper, diced (the healthiest of the peppers)

1 large egg

2 TBS plain yogurt

1/2 tsp salt

1/8 tsp pepper

1/2 cup flour (try chickpea, almond or oat flour for more protein)

1/2 cup cornmeal

2 tsp baking powder

1/2 cup grated cheddar cheese

1 TBS oil (try coconut oil for more nutrients)

You do the grating and chopping.  Have your kiddos combine the peppers, zucchini, carrots, and corn in a large bowl.  Add the yogurt, egg, salt, and pepper to the veggies and mix.  In another bowl, combine the cornmeal, flour and baking powder before adding it to the veggies. Sprinkle the mixture with cheese. Heat oil in a skillet.  Form the veggie mixture into balls and press into a patty, using about 1/8 cup of dough.  Add to skillet and cook on both sides (pressing to flat with  the back of your spatula so it gets hot and cooked throughout the pancake).

I’d pair this with some grilled chicken or fish or go Meatless Monday and add it to a burger bun with sweet potato fries!  Or, if you really want to be Betty Crocker, try any of these veggie fries from HellaWella…

\

Parsnips (curry makes for a great seasoning)

Green beans

Mushrooms

Avocado

My recommendation, ditch the panko breadcrumbs and add more nutrients by grinding cashews or oats for peanut allergies.  Also, save some oil calories by investing in coconut oil spray

How do you make Mondays more enjoyable?

What’s your favorite thing to cook with the kiddos?

Clean up advice?

8 thoughts on “Kids Cook Monday

  1. Tina Muir says:

    I LOVE this! I am determined to make sure my kids cook with me. My mum was always hesitant to let us as is a little ocd about cleanliness, but I think it is so important! I love these photos of Gentry, and this is a clever way of showing her vegetables can be fun 🙂

  2. joannamurnan says:

    My daughter is only 16 months, but I am already getting anxious for when she’s old enough to cook with me! I try to have her around during the safe (aka – no heat or knives) portion of dinner prep, but her attention span isn’t very long haha

  3. Marnie @ SuperSmartMama says:

    Laura from Mommy Run Fast mentioned this recipe in her latest meal plan. I love the idea of veggie pancakes. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

