RVA Half Marathon and Baby Sleep Methods

Is it already RVA Half Marathon time?  This Saturday I’ll take the streets with just about everyone who lives in this city.  It is called the “Friendliest Marathon” so if you live in RVA and you AREN’T there, consider yourself unfriendly 😉

My only goal… try to creep as close as I can to last year’s time…

bmsrvahalf

2013 RVA Half

If anyone has ABSOLUTELY nothing to do on Saturday, you can track me HERE.

My lack of training worked surprisingly well for the Hershey Half, so let’s see what even more well-rested legs can do for this flatter course.  And I say even more well-rested because I’ve done even less running in prep for this race than that one thanks to the littlest Miss and her developing sleep skills at 12 weeks.

IMG_6100.JPG

Here I go jinxing it, but she has started sleeping through the night… MY definition of sleeping through the night 8PM-6/7AM.  Who ever considered just 6 measly hours sleeping through the night?

For anyone curious, I used Babywise with both girls and added in a little of 12 Hours of Sleep by 12 Weeks old for Sutton (can you tell my desperation for getting my zzz’s by round 2?).  The basic concept behind Babywise is E-A-S-Y

Eat (feed the baby)

Activity (keep the baby up)

Sleep (put the baby down to sleep)

You time (sleep yourself… ignore dirty houses, cooking… the dog.. etc.)

And the basics behind the 12 Hour Method are to gradually reduce the amount of midnight feedings.  Because I switched to formula, it was easy for me to do this.  Sutton went from 4 oz in the middle of the night, to 3oz to 2oz and then just eliminated it altogether (fingers crossed).  If you want more info on these methods I’d be happy to share what I know, although I’m by no means an expert.

I’m also a cry it out mama… once Sutton made it to 3AM without eating, I held her to that.  She didn’t scream for hours if she woke up before then, but I sucked it up a few nights and kept reinserting the paci (damn that thing) until 3AM.  Again, I’m jinxing it, but this worked for us.

Daytime naps… those are another story.


So what does this have to do with race training?  Well when Sutton was waking up at 4AM to eat, I’d put her back down and run.  I knew I had a good 2/3 hours before she’d wake again.  Well now that she’s waking during my running time, I’ve had to get runs in when both her and the tornado are awake- at the gym.

IMG_6113.JPG

  I lose all motivation to work out post 7AM.  That’s chai tea and massive bowl of oatmeal time.
But sleeping in is growing on me.


Speaking of massive bowls, what’s your vote for my Thanksgiving side dish contribution?

Sweet Potato Shepherd’s Pie

Sweet Potato Shepherd's Pie- the epitome of delicious Fall comfort food!

and

Gluten-free stuffing poppers

Stuffing Poppers with Cranberry Jalapeno Dipping Sauce

Justin and I have decided to go as gluten-free as we can… I’ll be sure to do a post on this in the near future so this post doesn’t turn into more of a novel than it already is!

Next post will be my RVA Half recap and another Kids Cook Monday!

How did you “train” your baby to sleep?

What’s on your race calendar?

What’s on your menu for Thanksgiving?

12 thoughts on “RVA Half Marathon and Baby Sleep Methods

  1. joannamurnan says:

    I didn’t have any sort of schedule with my 1st – I just nursed on demand. I think that’s going to have to change when baby #2 comes in May because I’ll be trying to keep up with a 2 year old too! Keep us posted on what’s working! 🙂

  2. vitatrain4life says:

    Good luck this weekend!! I will definitely be tracking you!! As for baby sleep…we definitely let the boys cry it out. It was torturous for a bit but they were both sleeping for a solid 7 hours a night by 2 1/2 months. It’s the only way I survived.

  3. Alyssa says:

    Good Luck in your half! I loved reading about your sleep methods. I”ve got a 4 month old who is really inconsistent at night…but I know she can be a good sleeper! We’re still working on it! And can’t wait to hear about your GF adventures…I’ve been GF for 10 years! Let me know if you have questions!

  4. anonymous says:

    You should not be withholding food from a 3-month old and it is way too early for cry it out. Babies need their mothers. Please feed your daughter when she is hungry and comfort her when she needs it. This is so sad to read.

    • bemomstrong says:

      Thank you for your honest feedback. I omitted that I waited until she was uninterested in the middle of the night feeding (only really took 1-2 oz) until I started cutting back. The day I started cutting back 1 oz at night, I added one ounce during the day. This helped her transition from getting calories at night to calories during the day. Different people have different opinions on the cry it out method. My ped. actually recommended to start soon after that 2nd month letting her go 5-10 minutes, which is exactly what I did. Afterwards, I would go in and comfort her. I do not believe she has EVER been starved or denied comfort from us. Trust me, I starved Gentry by nursing her the first 4 months and unknowingly not producing enough. Sutton is a very plump and happy baby!
      But, I am honest in my posts, so I appreciate you being honest in your response. I just felt compelled to respond because I do not want you thinking this child is having a horrible life. In fact, she is leaps and bounds happier during the day now that we are sleeping through the night.

  5. Melissa @ Freeing Imperfections says:

    Wow, very interesting tips! I’m pregnant with my first and so want to try this and have a schedule down, but I feel so overwhelmed about it. I’ve watched babies through the night before (I was a nanny), but I don’t feel I paid attention enough to know what I was really doing!

    • bemomstrong says:

      Melissa congrats!! Im a VERY OCD person when it comes to getting my babies on schedules. I like to know whats going to happen when and they both seem to be craving that too. Ultimately, it depends on the baby. Read Babywise and see what will work with you. The first 3 months are a blur but i feel like tou can still start to put some things into motion then.

  6. waninger55 says:

    I love this post as we just switched to formula and are down to 2 night time feedings (11:30ish and 3/4 ish) I want to get down to one then none! I too stay up after the 3/4 AM feeding and run my hubby thinks I’m nuts but if I don’t get it in then it ain’t happening! Do you still swaddle? How did you transition out of that phase?

  7. Change of Pace says:

    So excited to see your race time considering what you did at the Hershey half- you really do amaze me! GOOD LUCK!
    And yay for Sutton’s sleep 🙂 My sister’s little one is almost four months now and started sleeping 8-9 hours really early. One can only hope!

Leave a Reply

