RVA Half Marathon Recap

This is going to be a TTP… to the point… post.  I had friends in town for the race, Gentry out of town for the race and a whole lot of grocery shopping and meal planning that didn’t get done.  But, I’d do this weekend in a heartbeat all over again… well maybe keep Gentry around one time 😉

Saturday’s race was FRIGID!  Luckily, I have a stockpile of old sweatshirts and pants, which I literally wore up until the amen minute.  Sometimes being a hoarder pays off.  Despite the North Pole-esque temps, I felt great the entire race.  Justin rode his bike next to me for much of the last half.  Of course if he’s not participating in a race he has to ride his bike to the race, ride the race and ride home.  Even if the start is 25 miles away by car.

IMG_6141.JPG

That about sums up the race… 21 seconds slower than last year.  Either I ran too slow last year or I was just excited to get to the finish line and put on some warm clothes.

My friend deserves the spotlight this year though-

IMG_6140.JPG

after running Marine Corps Marathon just 2 short weeks ago at a 3:45, she turned around and ran this one at 3:32… good enough for her first (of many) Boston Qualifiers.

I’m not going to lie, seeing her cross the finish line made me about 1% wish I did the full.  Will I admit to looking up fulls in early 2015… maybe?  Maybe not?


If you read my post last week, I said I was dedicating each Monday post to Kids Cook Monday.  A great way for you to not only teach your kids about nutrition, but to get them cooking dinner for you 😉

Last Monday, Gentry and I made these veggie pancakes.

IMG_6125.JPG

This Monday, we are attempting to make these Honey Cheerio Bars

But, instead of Cheerios, I’d use Kashi Heart to Heart cereal for a bit more nutrition.

How was your weekend?

What’s been cooking in your kitchen?

Full or stick with half marathons???

13 thoughts on “RVA Half Marathon Recap

  1. milesandblessings says:

    That time is AMAZING and just 3 months post baby is super woman!!!!!! I am so excited for you!!!! I can’t believe he biked 25 miles to the race!!!! My weekend was AMAZING! I LOVED that race and not just because I did better than I was hoping…although that helped. You were totally right, and I am so glad we did not get there at 6…we actually didn’t get there till 7:15 (it was cutting it a little close for me, but we were running late). Go for the full :). I am already signing up for Richmond again next year!!!! The free fleece blankets won me over BIG time!!!!!!

  2. Jessie says:

    Good for on you getting out there in the frigid temperatures. It’s never easy to run in those conditions. Sure you were a bit slower then last year but you still did fantastic!

    I can’t imagine you two not being a fan of those bars. Kim’s recipes are always delicious.

  3. vitatrain4life says:

    Holy WOW Emma! Great job on the half!! And your friend is truly amazing for pulling that off. Very, very cool!! Those blankets are awesome and such a great idea. I’m assuming you got them as you crossed the finish?? If so, I’d prefer a blanket to a medal for ANY winter race!! I also love those Cheerio bars. I will def make those with the boys.

  4. misszippy1 says:

    Congrats to you and your friend–how nice you are to feature her like that! I think you did an awesome job and that you surely have many more good ones ahead of you as well.

  5. Carly @ Fine Fit Day says:

    Wow! You’re amazing, what an awesome time, especially so soon after giving birth! Congrats, lady. I love the half distance, especially because the training for a full is so time-consuming and intense, but every time I read a full recap I get itchy to run the marathon again.

  6. Change of Pace says:

    Congratulations on another incredible race!! Wow- super speedy! How did you feel?
    And congratulations to your friend, too. That’s awesome!
    Love those blankets. Were they given away post-race? I’d totally take that over a finisher medal!
    Lastly, I say stick with halfs!! You rock at them, and with two little ones and an on-the-go husband, training is manageable 🙂
    Have fun cooking with G!

  7. shannalehr says:

    Congrats on your time!! My husband and I ran our first full marathon in Richmond this weekend. They do an amazing job! Loved the race. Hated the cold. Going for a BQ next!! Tell your friend nice job too!

Leave a Reply

