Pantry Staples

I have almost 30 mamas participating in my 7-Day Jump Start.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/d86/61540504/files/2015/01/img_6490.jpg

I plan on sharing some of the pictures of what they’ve been creating!  It’s not too late to join!


I was also inspired by this post from the No Meat Athlete.  I’m listing my pantry staples:

1.  Bulk Bin Nuts.  Not only are they a little cheaper, but they aren’t coated with oils and salts.  The nuts that give you the most bank for your buck (nutrition-wise, I can’t help the price) almonds, cashews and pistachios.  They have the fewest calories but jammed with protein.

Uses: On-the-go snacks

2.  Lundberg Rice Cakes.  Rice cakes in general don’t give you much nutrition or satisfaction.  These cakes give you a  heartier complex carb.  A little crumbly (the dog isn’t complaining), but add some nut butter to it and you have a portable protein + complex carb snack.

Uses: On-the-go snacks (even for toddlers)

3.  PB2.  There has been some debate about how natural this product is.  Yes, it has gone through a further process than just being a nut, but I personally don’t see too much harm done in that process.  It has just as much protein as regular peanut butter, just less fat.  Although regular peanut butter WILL keep you satisfied longer because of the extra “good” fats, sometimes I just want something lighter.

Uses: smoothies, added kick to desserts, toppings for fruit and rice cakes

4. Gluten-free Rolled Oats.  I am not on a gluten-free diet, but I have been researching how gluten can interfere with athletic performance.  Since I’m usually teaching a class soon after eating breakfast, I don’t want any GI issues going on!  Very filling and VERY easy to make.  Check out some Overnight Oats recipes for a true grab & go breakfast!

Uses: Breakfast, added to veggie burgers to make heartier

5.  Love Grown Power O’s.  I like a crunch to my bowl of oatmeal so these are my go-to’s.  Beans for breakfast?  Why not?  Protein + complex carb all in one food.  Honey is my favorite.

Uses: Breakfast or snack for toddlers

6.  Health Warrior Chia Bars.  I can’t say enough about these.  Gentry even gobbles them up.  Just pack some toothpicks to get all those seeds out of your teeth.  Advice- buy an entire box from Whole Foods and get a discount.  RVA friends- Ellwood Thompsons actually has them the cheapest.

Uses: On-the-go snack

7.  Chai Tea bags.  I can’t do coffee, but with a 2 year old and 4 month old, I need caffeine in my life!  My chai tea looks like this: 1/2 cup almond milk, few drops of pure vanilla extract, sprinkle of cinnamon, chai tea bag and fill with hot water.

Uses: Morning mojo

8.  Bai5 drinks.  Warning- my husband thinks these taste like cough medicine, but I’m digging them.  Water gets a little old, so this is a pick me up.  Not to mention it actually has some nutrients in it.

Uses: Afternoon mojo

9.  Flaxseed and Chia Seeds.  I literally add these to anything.  If you’ve never heard of these, here is some info.

10.  Nutritional Yeast.  Sounds appetizing huh?  Here are some reasons why you should be using it.  A cheesy taste without the cheese.  Since I don’t eat that much meat, I’m a veggie burger lover, I need all the B vitamins I can get.  Try substituting this instead of cheese in your next recipe.  You may be surprised.

Uses: Added to salads, soups, burgers… anything needing a cheesy taste.

11.  Dry Beans.  There is no quicker and healthier dinner than boiling up some beans with a vegetable.  My favorites- red lentils, black beans and chickpeas.

Uses: Last minute dinner when Justin is out of town!

12.  Chocolate bars.  I’m not perfect.  I love my chocolate.  I have 3 pieces of this hunk after lunch and dinner.  And for dinner, add So Delicious Almond Butter Chocolate Ice Cream to that 😉

Uses: A congratulations, you’ve almost or have made it through the day with 2 kids.

What is your pantry staple?

2 thoughts on “Pantry Staples

  1. Carrie says:

    My husband is not really on board with a lot of healthy foods. We eat healthy but I can not sneak in things like flax, chia, or even quinoa. I do add butternut squash and other squashes to a lot of out food to get veggies into him!! Our pancakes have extra eggs for protein and often a hidden veggie!!
    But I do like the bulk nuts, especially pistachios. I get bulk quinoa and millet for myself. I try to use dried beans as often as I can, you know you can cook them and freeze them to add to recipes quickly? Frozen fruit is a staple for us. I have a peanut allergy and my youngest has a condition similar to an allergy to oats so we are limited. We always have almond butter in our pantry. Yams are a pantry staple, my 7 year old LOVES them.

  2. milesandblessings says:

    Ugh….my diet needs a major overhaul!!!! I eat fake healthy :/. Like things that aren’t horrible, but I know aren’t really healthy either. I usually just go with Honey Nut Cheerios for breakfast or a bagel, a peanut butter sandwich for lunch. I usually have an apple and a banana a day, some nuts, some raisins and whatever we are having for dinner. I also have a major sweet tooth so I usually have a bowl of ice cream before bed :/….I am working on changing though 🙂

Leave a Reply

