One Year

One year ago today, tragedy struck our family, town and the entire running community.

You’ll probably see many posts and tributes to her today- reliving what happened and asking why.  Instead of lingering on the past, I thought we’d look at what this horrific event has spun:

The hashtag #megsmiles which has been uniting runners across the world who would’ve never been able to support each other otherwise.

A website devoted to carrying on Meg’s legacy- both on the road running and in living a Christ-filled life.

Another website created to organize all the runs going on for the 1 year anniversary.  Check out the Facebook virtual race invite here and consider joining the other 7.6K!  If you are local, I’m hosting one in our neighborhood.  Over 295 people have RSVPed.  That’s how touched this community remains one year later.

Picture from last year…

and

A massive (17,550+) Facebook community where runners share inspiration, ask questions about running and depend on each other for accountability.  I’m rather silent on this community, but I still fly under the radar and check out everyone’s posts.  It is so inspirational and motivating and I encourage you to join just for the sake of that.

No one can explain why this day had to happen last year, but I think this post I came across this morning gets pretty close to that grander plan…

I only joined this group a few short months ago however have learned so much from all of you and the power of ‪#‎megsmiles‬! Learning about Meg and her family has changed how I think about life, the Lord and running.

Changing the way one person thinks… that’s pretty powerful. 

Please consider dedicating your miles/workouts/thinking from today to Meg’s family.  And, I encourage you to reflect- are you leaving the footprint on this planet that you’d like?

We heart you Meg.

7 thoughts on “One Year

  1. milesandblessings says:

    Great job Emma!!! I love this! I am doing 7.5 miles today for Meg. Your question about leaving a footprint on this planet that I’d like is such a great question. It is one that I want to remind myself of often. God has blessed me in more ways than I am able to describe, the most important being a home in heaven, and I want my life to reflect my thankfulness more than anything :). Thanks for a great post!

  2. vitatrain4life says:

    It never ceases to amaze me the difference one person can make! This is a wonderful tribute and makes me believe in the human RACE!

  3. Sue @ This Mama Runs For Cupcakes says:

    Wow, I can’t believe it’s been a year. What an amazing movement this has created. Hugs to you and your family!

Leave a Reply

