Meg’s Memorial Run

Every time I run, I think of Meg.  But this past Saturday, a lot more people did too.  If you follow my blog, you know the story behind Meg.  Saturday was the decided 1 year anniversary day.  13,000+ people worldwide ran for her… Australia, Russia… you name it.  Just check out the Facebook page.

Locally, I hosted (with the help of a VERY generous couple) a run for her in our neighborhood.  I wish we had a count, but by the looks of this picture, you can tell it was A LOT!

megsmilesphoto1

Our newspaper did a great job summing it all up, and even had one of my barre-bies on the front cover.

20150118_MET_MENZ_JM04

That’s BE MOM STRONG right there 😉

Didn’t realize when the newspaper filmed me that there would be a video- newspapers are still papers right?! But here are some more scenes.  And, I’m pretty sure you could turn this video into a drinking/workout game with all the times I say “um” and “gathering.”  Just saying.

http://launch.newsinc.com/?type=VideoPlayer/Single&widgetId=1&trackingGroup=69016&siteSection=timesdispatch_nws_loc_sty_pp&videoId=28375962

At Meg’s site, there are always shoes hanging in remembrance.

I thought it would be cool to donate old shoes and give them to those in need through Soles4Souls.

20150118_MET_MENZ_JM03

Source

We managed to collect 54 pairs of shoes that day, which are now eating up our “gym” corner in the garage, but I’m okay with that.

I am just so humbled that people actually laced up on such a cold morning, followed my directions and ran in remembrance of a super woman!

megsmiles2015

Thank you to these awesome sponsors this year…

Seal This!

Lucky Foot

Health Warrior

Form Fitness

Karen Tribbey photography

Carmen Doherty Photography

Craftmaster Homes

The Thiel-Morris Team

Olive Ashby

Did you run for Meg this weekend?

4 thoughts on “Meg’s Memorial Run

  1. Jen says:

    It was a special event and I was honored to be apart of it. I didn’t know Meg but I think of her often and certainly every time I lace up. I would be happy I help plan next year in any way I can.

Leave a Reply

