Running Update

I’m so used to Justin planning his race calendar and me being pregnant, that I am completely behind on this year’s.

20140611-152823-55703783.jpg

I have been treadmill running and feel prepared for halfs, just haven’t signed up for many.  Thanks to my mama friend Erika, I’m pushing myself to add one more mile each day for the Run for the White House for Childhood Cancer movement.  If you remember my post last spring, her 4-year old warrior was diagnosed with cancer.  I truly admire her because instead of burying herself in sadness, she has turned that energy into running… like crazy!  And it REALLY has made me add one more mile each day.

zooma1



From the Run for the White House Facebook page:

The 2015 running event “Run for the White House for Childhood Cancer Awareness” is impacting the childhood cancer and running communities with thousands of people running and walking in virtual tours across the United States and North America.
In a combined effort from people all over the US and around the world, we set a goal to run right to the front door of our government and let them know that Childhood Cancer’s are not Rare and deserve more attention from the resources allocated by the government each year.
Learn more at the http://www.thetruth365.org/

Our team is “racing” other teams to get there by documenting each run on their group page and using the # for our team.  if you’d like to join, click HERE and tell us your mileage each time you run using #Run4SuperDavid.  We MUST win 😉



I am signed up for the Shamrock Half in March as a part of the Speak Up 5k Team, as well as the Monument Avenue 10K.   I hope to run that race every year of my life- just in hopes they choose me as the person to “race” the winner for cash.



I mean, this guy looks pretty easy to beat.

Another definite… The Movie Madness Half Marathon in April.  We will be at my sister-in-law’s house for Easter, so why not run a race the day before?  Justin and I will only travel for races 😉

Check out the bling you get with it.

I always knew I was destined for fame.



Here are some others I’m seriously considering:

Race for the Chocolate 10k (chocolate. duh)

Love ROX Half (I hate Sunday races though)

Race 13.1 RVA

Petersburg Historic Half

VA Wine Festival Half

And don’t tell Justin, but I put my name in the lottery for the Napa to Sonoma Half Marathon in July.  Wine + running = yes please.



But, my BIGGEST decision is whether or not to run the NYC FULL Marathon.



 Based on my half times I qualify for it.  I did the half last March and LOVED it.

20140317-095204.jpg



The issues:

1.  I don’t do full marathons

2.  It’s 2 weeks before my favorite PR race the Richmond Half

3.  I don’t do full marathons



So which should be done and which should be scratched?  Go.

And what are you signed up for this year?

 

11 thoughts on “Running Update

  1. milesandblessings says:

    Ah! Do a full!!!! SO far I have a 5k in Westminster MD in March and I was totally looking at the Movie Madness race too! It is less than an hour from me! It was between that one and one in PA that is really hilly. I was thinking about the 13.1 in Richmond in May…it is just a little far so I need a hotel and I am not sure I want to go to all that (if I had unlimited race funds I would totally do it!!!!). I am doing Zooma Annapolis end of May and a 10k in June. I may do a 1/2 in Sept but fall is pretty much gearing up for Richmond full

  2. Debbie @ Deb Runs says:

    I want to run the Napa to Sonoma Half some day, too! I’ve done the Virginia Wine Country Half three times. It’s a beautiful course, but it was really hot and humid a couple of the years.

  3. Kim @ Fittin Pretty says:

    Looks like a busy year! NYC would be cool buut I agree, full marathons are kinda meh. 🙂 Too much work! haha. Hey, side note, I remember you posting on the For Two Fitness page awhile ago about having a baby bump, despite having lost all your postpartum weight…did you find any answers? I’m at the same place…PP weight is gone, belly WAS pretty flat but now seems bloated all the time, and I’ve been doing more core work than ever. I have a slight diastasis, but isn’t that normal? I’m now worried that I’m doing too MUCH core work and making it worse… anyway, would love to hear how things are going for you/if you have any suggestions!

    • bemomstrong says:

      Yes! I am the exact same way and feel like my belly is growing. I have no answers for you though. I even went to the doctor and they just looked at me funny. Let’s keep each other posted if we find any answers though please!

Leave a Reply

