Winner and Recovery

Congratulations to my Race 13.1 giveaway winner- Nichole S

Displaying Race - Main Logo MM.png

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Don’t forget there is still time to sign up for this year’s races offered through them.  Check out this post for the listings!


Life has been hectic lately.  Friends have been having babies/getting injured or getting the flu, I’ve been making up clean eating dinner plans for my “Dinners Made Easy” Challenge, and I’m teaching 5-6 barre classes a week.

Still doesn’t sound like much to you working moms probably, but it’s a lot when you have this distracting you all day.

2015/02/img_6621.jpg


2015/02/img_6608.jpg


In addition, I’ve been upping my mileage… for a few reasons.  One for the Shamrock Half Marathon at the end of March and another because of the Run for the White House Challenge.  I’ve always been a 3-day a week runner, averaging 20-22 miles a week.  Never saw injury with this plan.

The past month, I’ve been pushing 28-30 miles a week.

My body is 100% feeling it.

2015/02/img_1175.jpg


So, instead of pushing through the hip pain and quad fatigue, I’m taking a little scale back.

Less running, more barre and more stretching.

I’m posting this so I can actually try to hold myself accountable.  There is almost nothing I love more than getting an early AM long run in and having that feeling of accomplishment all day.  Non-cardio workouts, I’ll be honest, just don’t do it as much for me.  So, if you see me, ask how my “recovery” is going please!

Here’s what I’m trying to do daily


stretches for runners | ... di stretching | Running Blog by Passion Fitness – Blog sul running

Yes I realize it’s in a different language, but it’s just one of those weeks.  I don’t have time to find the English version.  Pictures are universal, right?


Plus, I just saw this on the news.

Granted there were a lot of flaws with the study, but that headline will get you.

Running Farther, Faster and Longer can Kill You.

Yikes.  Better reconsider buying those new Newtons.


Just beware for the next couple weeks…


And to add to the randomness of this post, I’m giving a nutrition talk to some MOPS moms tomorrow and found this table I thought was very telling for a week of a little bit more stress than usual…

SOURCE


Do you power through injuries or take a step back?

4 thoughts on “Winner and Recovery

  1. Change of Pace says:

    I can see how it would be tough to get stuff done with your two little ones running around; the IG video of G singing Frozen in her princess dress was priceless 🙂
    Wow- 5-6 barre classes a week? Your legs must be steel!
    Did you end up putting your name in for the NYC marathon?
    The last few weeks I’ve really been craving pop. I’ll have to try upping my calcium and see if it helps!

Leave a Reply

