Soy Protein Isolate Revealed

I know… you are just DYING to know what soy protein isolate is and if you should be avoiding it.  Let me start again, have you ever even seen that ingredient?

SOURCE (and a good article to read)


maybe you’re an avid nutrition label reader, or maybe you are like me 95% of the time and are just on Supermarket Sweep to prevent a toddler/baby meltdown in Kroger.

SOURCE


“Soy protein isolate is a dry powder food ingredient that has been separated or isolated from the other components of the soybean, making it 90 to 95 percent protein and nearly carbohydrate and fat-free.” SOURCE

SOURCE


Asian populations use large amounts of soy products.  They also have the longest and healthiest lives in the world. Soy was even given the health claim that “25 grams of soy protein a day, as part of a diet low in saturated fat and cholesterol, may reduce the risk of heart disease.”

SOURCE

SOURCE


However, to make soy protein isolate, soybeans are chemically engineered to “isolate” their protein.

CHEMICALLY.

This process strips out all of the other nutrients the original bean contained.  It’s pretty sad that 90+ percent of soybeans grown in the U.S. are genetically modified.  So add a genetically modified soybean to that chemical process and you have soy protein isolate.

Nutritionists from Prevention agree that there are MANY benefits to QUALITY soy, but they recommend purchasing fermented soy sources- miso, tempeh, and natto because fermentation increases the digestibility of soy, adds good bacteria, and reduces the plant estrogen content in soy foods.  SOURCE

One of the most controversial parts of soy are its isoflavones- antioxidants that mimic estrogen in the body. These can increase bone mineral density and decrease the frequency and severity of hot flashes. BUT (because there’s always a but), isoflavones have also been documented contributing to the risk of breast cancer.

Ay-ya-ya.  Is anything good for you?!


MY TAKE- With all the research I’ve been doing, every single food has been linked to cause something.  Again, you just can’t win.


Instead… eat everything in moderation.  TRY eating a majority of your foods as close as you can to the way God put them on this earth.  Want protein?  Try beans, meat, greek yogurt, nuts, etc.  Get it from REAL food.  But if you aren’t getting the daily recommended amount (46-56g for the average adult) try pea or hemp protein- plant based ones.  My favorite protein powder


I am not an advocate of eliminating anything but processed foods from your diet.  Everything in moderation, even…

What’s your take on soy?

10 thoughts on “Soy Protein Isolate Revealed

  1. Linz says:

    interesting finds. like you, i feel like there is some type of research or study to back up why some particular food isn’t good for you. that’s why i live by my motto – everything in moderation! 🙂 🙂

  2. vitatrain4life says:

    Ugh, when did eating get oh-so-complicated??? I actually read somewhere that there is now an “eating disorder” based on fear – fear of food and eating the “wrong” things!!! Insanity. I agree with the everything in moderation and definitely try to eat natural, whole foods MOST of the time. I’m also a big fan of all VEGA products!! Thanks for shedding some light on this while also keeping it down to earth.

  3. Carrie A Groff says:

    I avoid processed soy completely.There’s no need for it in our foods at all. Companies use it because it’s a cheap emulsifier. I agree about everything in moderation to a point. It’s all about balance and how the foods we eat make us feel.

  4. Jill says:

    I used to drink a TON of soy milk (like several glasses a day for years) Bc I’m lactose intolerant but a couple years ago I became more fearful about what all that soy might be doing to me in terms of future fertility/cancer risks. So now I avoid soy milk and drink almond, coconut or cashew instead. In addition I do try to avoid foods with soy protein if I can. I m not a scientist but I think there’s enough evidence that we should at least be wary of it. Good post!

  5. Carly @ Fine Fit Day says:

    I had a vague idea of what it was, but didn’t know it was chemically engineered. When I eat things that are packaged, like granola bars, I do try to stick to brands I know don’t contain any crap, but I’m sure I’ve had my share of soy protein isolate in my life! Ugh, it makes me so annoyed that crap seems to get put in everything.

Leave a Reply

