Training Thoughts

I am 100% signed up for four half marathons in 2015

Shamrock (VA Beach, March)

Movie Madness (PA, April)

Race 13.1 (RVA, May)

Richmond Half (RVA, November)

Which means I probably need to stop just running on the treadmill as long as an episode of How to Get Away with Murder and Scandal lasts.


So, as part of being in a blog partnership with Race 13.1, I am sharing some different theories on training as I continue to develop mine.


Laminated Ryan.  Nothing in my house stays spit-up free these days.

Historically, there has been a 10% rule in increasing mileage.  Each week, don’t increase your distance by more than 10%.  Sounds like a great plan to build up to 13.1 without injury, right?  As I’m researching this more and more, I’m finding less and less support for that theory… like HERE.  That particular study found injury rates very similar no matter what the plan.  I guess increasing mileage no matter what opens you up for hurts.


I’ve liked the thought of building up mileage and then cutting back for a week.  So, Weeks 1-3 keep increasing mileage and Week 4 decrease.  Then start back up Weeks 5-7 cutting back Week 8.  But, will I really want to go back up a week after I realize how good it is running less?!


I also like the idea of running for a certain amount of time versus distance- with the thought that as you become a better runner through training, you’ll run more in the same amount of time.  In fact, this is what I tell clients to do- run 30 minutes, etc.  BUT, I’m a numbers girl and need an even 5 miles versus 5.42.


My training thoughts:

1.  Three runs a week- speed, hills and a long one

Speed = anything from adding a few fast pick ups to a medium run, or running shorter sprints at the track totaling 3 fast miles

Hills = finding a medium length route with some inclines or upping that incline on the treadmill for 3-4 minutes every mile during a medium run

Long Run = you building endurance to your goal race distance.  I am concerned more with the distance here rather than speed.  Although, once I hit my goal distance, I throw in a little speed play.

2.  Strength training to build up the muscles neglected by running, ultimately making the parts of your body used for running stronger.  My faves- barre and TRX.

3.  Other forms of cardio- cycle, tabata, boxing.  This will build up your endurance while not pounding the same body parts over and over.


Working on an actual “plan” so you can laminate it Ryan, but in all honesty, it’ll be how many miles can I fit in before baby wakes!

2015/02/img_6644.jpg

How do you approach training?

 

2 thoughts on “Training Thoughts

  1. vitatrain4life says:

    and this is why I hired a coach!!! When you have kids, all bets are off and you do what you can, when you can! Half marathons are just right when you’re schedule is always in flux! Good luck mama 🙂

  2. Sue @ This Mama Runs For Cupcakes says:

    This is great. I’m with you on the 3 runs a week and crosstraining, that has helped me a lot. I would like to think I could run for time, but when it comes down to it, I’m a numbers girl, no way around that. Just can’t shift my way of thinking!! The girls are adorable and getting so big!

Leave a Reply

