Food Experiment Plan

Last week I mentioned that our family will be conducting a food experiment.  I’m researching recipes and “lifestyles” this week and plan starting March 1st.  Here is our line up so far

MARCH- Vegetarian

This should be fairly easy since I can totally do without meat already.


 APRIL- Paleo

SOURCE

This will be much harder.  No legumes?  No peanuts?  No dairy?  No sugar? No grains?  What do they eat?!

My jumbo Groupon order of PB2 will need to be consumed this month I guess, which shouldn’t be a problem.


MAY- Vegan

SOURCE

Probably equally as hard as paleo because NO animal products

BUMMER.


JUNE- Macros


We plan to go 3 weeks on, 1 week reset before the next month.  We may add some along the way, but didn’t want to overcommit.  Gluten-free, Dairy-free and Sugar-free lifestyles are incorporated into paleo, so if I feel a huge difference that month, I will probably do a month of each separately to find the culprit.


I had a request for the South Beach Diet.  For one, this is more of a “diet” plan, not a lifestyle, from what I understand.  With the amount of exercising and training done between the two of us… ok just with Justin, I didn’t think a low-carb lifestyle would be best for us.

SOURCE


 I’ve also had several people comment that this experiment may be pointless because one way of eating isn’t good for all.  I completely agree.   I just want to see if we can possibly feel better as well as be better prepared to direct my nutrition clients.


This month, look for meatless meals as well as researched pros and cons of vegetarianism.

Any great vegetarian resources out there?

Which would be the hardest for you?

13 thoughts on “Food Experiment Plan

  1. Kim Jameson-Dean says:

    I already eat gfree and added meatless Mondays to the meal rotation in January. I can’t wait to get some new meatless meals from you! Also looking forward to your paleo month. I have cookbooks if you need resources. I would like to cut some sugar from my diet, but I haven’t gotten into the habit of watching that # yet. Good luck!!

    • Tina Muir says:

      Hi Kim, sorry to interrupt, but check out my page today…..I host meatless monday every monday, if you add recipes or just check it out, you can learn lots of new ideas 🙂 I have so many meatless monday recipes on my page….we get 20-25 a week 🙂 Hope this helps, and please consider joining us 🙂

  2. Tina Muir says:

    This is such a great idea, I think you will learn so much, and others will be so interested to see the difference! For your vegetarian month, I hope you will join us for meatless monday 🙂

  3. bendiful says:

    Wow! Good for you, this looks like a lot of work. We tend to eat Paleo with a 80/20 I’m not sure I could do full on vegetarian. I’m interested in hearing how this goes!

  4. Sue @ This Mama Runs For Cupcakes says:

    I’m intrigued. I think the paleo diet would be the hardest for me. I need some sugar, in moderation.

  5. 'Becca says:

    I’ll be interested to read more about your experiment as you go! Lots of vegetarian and vegan recipes on my site. We gave up meat for Lent in 2002 and have never again eaten as much meat as we did before that.

    I think a paleo diet would be hardest for me. I thrive on carbs! Not so much white flour or sugar, but whole wheat, oatmeal, rice, etc. seem to be crucial to my avoiding a feeling of near-fatal hunger. Also, paleo sounds too low in fiber.

  6. Deborah @ Confessions of a Mother Runner says:

    Wow I am really excited to see how this goes for you. Having been a vegetarian my whole life (my family is not) it really easy pretty easy to manage. I personally could not be a vegan bc I get lots of protein from eggs and dairy. I imagine this will be the hardest for you all as it makes it pretty hard to eat out as well. My daughter just went paleo-gasp-and I am not a fan at all except for the fact that she has stopped eating crappy processed food. Good luck and super interested to see how it goes for you

  7. milesandblessings says:

    Your brave!!!!! I am interested to see how these all go! I honestly think they would all be hard for me. I just don’t like completely eliminating anything….it makes me want it more than anything. I am that person that has dessert every night…but just a little 🙂

  8. Leetra says:

    I love this idea! Maybe I’ll join you for the vegan month in May because I’ve been experimenting with it anyway 🙂 I’m definitely not participating in Paleo though because as a vegetarian, I’m nut sure there would be anything left for me to eat!

Leave a Reply

