Vegetarian Meals Week One

Next week starts our vegetarian venture.  We have decided to go lacto-ovo-vegetarian (since once we go paleo we won’t be eating dairy or vegan we won’t be eating any dairy or eggs).  I am sharing the meals I plan on prepping this week.  Will be sure to share each meal once it’s made (if I remember to photograph it) and fill you in on the variations I make.

The pictures below are 100% the blog’s from which I found the recipes.  You’ve seen my food photos before.  Didn’t want to scare you away


SUNDAY

Butternut Squash Pasta with quinoa pasta and kale

Creamy Butternut Squash Pasta Recipe on twopeasandthierpod.com


MONDAY

Cauliflower and Chickpea Tacos with swiss chard

Roasted Cauliflower and Chickpea Tacos Recipe on twopeasandtheirpod.com My favorite tacos!


TUESDAY

Lazy Vegetarian Shepherd’s Pie with roasted brussels

Lazy Lentil Shepherds Pie


WEDNESDAY

Cashew Tofu Quinoa Bowls

(will substitute tempeh because tofu just doesn’t appeal to me)

Cashew Tofu Quinoa Bowls


THURSDAY

Eggplant Roll-Ups with swiss chard

rollups


FRIDAY

Root Vegetable Rosti with roasted brussels

Root Vegetable Rösti with Kale - Potatoes, carrots, parsnips, yams, sweet potato and red onion come together with the beautiful dark green of lacinato kale. The rösti is crunchy and crisp on the outside and soft and creamy in the inside, so delicious!


Saturday will likely be out to dinner or frozen pizza.

20140625-143157-52317398.jpg


Breakfasts will be my usual:

Organic Plain Greek Yogurt + rolled oats + strawberries + flaxseed + chia seeds

IMG_5725


Lunches will also be my usual:

Peas, tomatoes, avocado, 2 eggs or 1/4 c of a legume and a Dr. Praeger’s Kale Burger


Will keep you posted on the grocery bill whenever I can convince Justin to let me go alone in peace this weekend!

Any vegetarian recipes I should try for next week?

3 thoughts on “Vegetarian Meals Week One

  1. Christy B says:

    Your breakfast looks good-can you give a specific recipe for it (ie-amounts)? Also, it looks almost like there’s something Cheerio shaped in there. If so, what kind do you use? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

