Thoughts on going Vegetarian

Next week is the start of Week 3 gone vegetarian.  Vegetarian is definitely going to be the easiest of all these experiments for us, since we are really only cutting out meat.  BUT, it has been eye opening.  A LOT more planning is involved with going veggie to get the correct amount of nutrients.  No more meat + vegetable + complex carb combo.  Instead, we’ve been trying different protein sources

beans

legumes

tempeh


I have never been able to do tofu except this recipe


Exactly, it’s chocolate pudding.


Tempeh is HORRIBLE tasting, no matter what I try to do with it.  Sorry vegetarians.  And, the extra amount of beans we’ve been eating has made life… well interesting around here.  Let’s just say diapers aren’t the only smelly things in these parts.  Yea, I just said that.


I’ve always eaten beans and legumes, but not THIS much.  I’ve noticed a little extra bloat because of this.  Interested to see how Paleo month goes, since it cuts out beans/legumes completely.


Justin and I miss meat- the convenience of it, the fact that it fills us up and that it’s a complete protein.  Yes, so is quinoa, but I can’t eat it for every. single. meal.  Just for comparison, 1 serving of chicken (3-4oz) has roughly 21g protein.  In order to get this from a veggie source, you’d need:

1 cup plus 2.5 TBS of lentils

or

1 and 1/3 c of black beans

or

1 and 1/2 c of chickpeas

SOURCE


That’s a LOT of beans and legumes, considering 1 serving is usually 1/2 cup cooked.  Not to mention, you usually need to pair a bean with a grain in order to get a complete protein.

SOURCE


Makes a case for being non-vegetarian.  This article also had me against this whole month’s experiment

HOW TO WIN A FIGHT AGAINST A VEGAN

BUT, in defense of vegetarians, remember this post I wrote about how much protein you actually need?  And…

SOURCE

What this picture doesn’t tell you is that’s the percentage of calories that come from protein in each- NOT your daily recommended intake.  In other words…

YES, but 100 calories of broccoli is a lot of food (3 cups), compared to 100 calories of beef,

SOURCE


Excited that paleo is all about some meat eating.  I miss fish and bison (not so much chicken).


Anyways, we do have one week left.  So here’s what’s on the menu

MONDAY

Lentil and Red Pepper Bake


 TUESDAY

Vegetarian meatballs with spaghetti squash and kale

Cannellini Bean Vegetarian


WEDNESDAY

Quinoa stuffed bell peppers with swiss chard

Quinoa Stuffed Bell Peppers - These stuffed bell peppers will provide the nutrition that you need for a healthy, balanced meal!


THURSDAY

Shrimp and asparagus with rice (yes I realize shrimp is technically an animal product, but I need it in my life)


FRIDAY

Frozen pizza.  Duh.


SATURDAY

Out in VA Beach before the Shamrock Half Marathon Sunday!


What are your thoughts on going veggie?

7 thoughts on “Thoughts on going Vegetarian

  1. Jill says:

    I tried to go vegan twice and didn’t do well. I think about it constantly because the ethical implications of eating meat are always weighing on my mind but when I don’t eat it I sadly feel very sickly. Good for you for trying it out for a whole month!

  2. Change of Pace says:

    This has been really interesting to read, and I’ll be curious about your other ‘diet’ attempts!
    Kelly was vegan for a few years and now went back to vegetarian. He said he noticed two things: he felt a lot better vegan, but he feels stronger and can build more muscle as a vegetarian.

  3. Kayla says:

    We don’t actually need as much protein as we think we do, so keep that in mind when you’re thinking of preparing meals. I’m enjoying (and filling up on) more potatoes than beans as a vegan. I’ve found that makes the difference. If you need a resource for recipes, try the 30 Day Vegan Challenge by Colleen Patrick Goudreau!

    • bemomstrong says:

      Thanks Kayla. Completely agree on the protein but I run A LOT and am a group ex instructor so I try to be on the higher end of the protein consumption spectrum. I will def check out that resource!

      • Kayla says:

        Hi again. Some athletes find that carbs really keep them powered for runs. I’m not a runner so I can’t personally speak to that but something to consider. Could be helpful.

Leave a Reply

