Agave

Last week going veggie.  You can read my thoughts on my last post HERE.

IMG_6792


And, this weekend is my first half of 2015.  VA Beach Shamrock Half Marathon.  To see why I chose this race, read HERE.


This week will be a bit of a taper, but with all the barre classes I have on the schedule, my “seat” won’t be getting much rest.


Feel free to follow me on Instagram and Twitter for race updates throughout the week.


This weekend, I got REALLY into researching food.  I mean, neglected to do anything else but listen to Podcasts, including hearing Gentry scream she had to go potty (hence the puddle on the floor 3 minutes later) and Justin asking how to cook dinner (hence the burnt brussels).



Sutton, you were an angel!



I started reading about agave, a newly proclaimed health food and sugar replacement.


Before we talk agave.  Let’s break down sugar.

White table sugar is made of two sugars: glucose and fructose.

1. Glucose is an important nutrient in our bodies and is healthy when consumed in moderation.  It is rapidly absorbed in our bloodstream and taken up by the cells.

2. Fructose, not so much.  It’s found in fruits and vegetables and sweeteners like sugar and high-fructose corn syrup.  Fructose is not rapidly absorbed, but rather kept in our liver where it is converted to fat.

SOURCE

Agave is high in fructose.  Regular sugar is about 50% fructose, while Agave is about 70-90% fructose.

So why did it get such a good rep?

It has a low GI.  Not THAT GI… Glycemic index.  What is glycemic index?

SOURCE

Another post on glycemic index to come and it’s many, MANY shortcomings.  BUT, back to where I started, agave has a low GI, which means not much of an impact on blood sugar levels.  Your body does not release nearly as much insulin as it does when you eat regular sugar.


Take home message… be weary of NEW health claims.  Do your own research.


Have you tried agave?  I still have a whole jar in our cabinet, which I will probably use so nothing goes to waste… don’t worry Grandma!

5 thoughts on “Agave

  1. Tina Muir says:

    Booooo! I did go through a phase of using agave a lot, but it was so expensive I backed off…..kinda glad I did now! YAY for your race this weekend, so exciting! Cant wait to hear how you do!

  2. Sarah Waninger says:

    Love this – I just tried to explainto my mom who swears honey is healthy sugar 🙂 that healthy is a very relative term and we need to be careful what we mentally classify as healthy!

    • bemomstrong says:

      Yes. I would agree that honey is a “healthier” alternative. God put it there for us and doesn’t need much work to consume. But I also would squeeze an entire jar into my mouth at a time!

  3. Sue @ This Mama Runs For Cupcakes says:

    Yea, agave was all the rage when the Clean Eating diet came out and then it was shown to be bad! I used up the last bit of mine and now use raw honey instead.

Leave a Reply

