Mother’s Day Recipes

Yesterday I received this from my 2 year old at school

 

I have never been the sappy one, but I was completely sappy.  This was just the reminder I needed from her.  Year 2-3 has been extremely trying for us.

Temper tantrums

Potty training

Strong will

Fast run-away-from-you Legs

 

Canvas of a photograph courtesy of Karen Tribbey Photography

You name it, Gentry’s done it.

But what 2 year old hasn’t?  And what mom WISHES she could transport back to those 2 year old days?  Well, every one except my mom probably.  She receives daily “Was I like this” questions from me followed by “I’m sorry.”

THANKS MOM!

Payback is…

 

But I wouldn’t change it for the world.

Courtesy of Karen Tribbey Photography

Courtesy of Karen Tribbey Photography


So in honor of all mothers out there… I have some healthy, unique Mother’s Day recipes to share.

Spicy Radish Nut Salad

Ingredients:

 

1 TBS chopped, peeled ginger

1/4 c creamy nut butter

1/4 c rice vinegar

2 TBS soy sauce (try Bragg’s Amino Acids)

2 TBS brown sugar (try coconut palm sugar)

1/4 c coconut oil

2 small cabbage, finely shredded

1 medium daikon radish, sliced into strips

1 c red radishes, sliced thin

handful of slivered nuts to top (use same as nut butter)

Place chopped cabbage, radishes and daikon in a bowl with the nuts.  Place the other ingredients in a food processor and blend.  Drizzle mixture on top of radishes and cabbage and mix to coat.  Garnish with more nuts.

 

Yellow Squash Hummus

  

2 small yellow squash, deseeded and chopped

juice from 1 lemon

3 TBS coconut oil

2 TBS garlic, minced

1 tsp of salt and pepper

1/2 c tahini

1 TBS of each: cumin, chili powder and turmeric

1/2 cup almond meal flour

 

Add all ingredients except tahini to a blender.  Mix well before adding in tahini.  Season to taste and pour into a bowl to dip with just about anything!

 

Be sure to check back on Mother’s Day to see who won my Soybu Giveaway!

I’m off tomorrow to Race 13.1!

Leave a comment